LET'S look at the logic that determines
- how you tackle a critical suit. In all exam-
ples assume you have plenty of entries to
cither hand uw:tl;l:s you h;ra‘leold otherf\;rrlse.
many tricks as ponigle.
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The principle of leading up to honours

may suggest to you that you should start
with low to the 4], but m you have a
finesse which you are bound to take (for
the #K), and a finesse which you might
choose to take later (for the #10). That

changes your a

Tackle this by looking at your main
objective, which is three tricks (at
least) if spades are 3-2. That rules out the

possibility of starting with low from
South to North’s 48 because you could
lose two tricks if East started with 4K 10
5. That doesn’t mean that you will never
take a finesse against the #10, but you
will only consider it (unless it is marked)
if the finesse against the 4K wins. To find
out, while still keeping your options
intact, start with the Q.

1f West covers with the 4K you are
guaranteed three tricks. Win the #A and
return to your hand for a finesse to
North's 9. If successful you will take all
four spade tricks.

If the #Q loses to East's 4K, when you
next gain the lead, try cashing the #A. If
East shows out return to your hand for a
marked finesse against West's #10.

Now try (b), 'ii:en that you have no

outside entry to the South hand.
" 480w
eK32

Your main strategy is to play out your
top three honours, making four tricks if
the suit breaks 3-3 or if the 4] is double-
ton or singleton, It is too eas‘:i to start
automatically by cashing the high card
from the shorter holding. Instead you
should ask if you can see any secondary
chances you can utilise without prejudic-
ing your main chance.

Consider the layout in (c).
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If you start with the #K and then lead
to North’s #A you are in the wrong hand
to take the marked finesse against Wesl's
#]. Correct play is to start with North's
#A and then cross to South with the K.

Look at this principle in the context of a
real hand. Consider your play in hands (d)
and (¢). In each case the contract is 7NT
and North leads the #] (see next column).

In (d) your main chance is to find hearts
3-2 or a singleton ¥), hence you will not
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take any finesse against the ¥J unless
it is marked.

You are unlikely to succeed if North
has ¥] 7 5 4. To cater for South holding
¥ ] 75 4 you should tackle the hearts
by cashing the YA, and entering
dummy with the YK. (It doesn’t do
any harm to try the ¥ 10 to dummy’s
¥K on the second round, but only a
very naive North would cover with
the ¥].)

(e) looks very similar to (d), but this
time your extra entry to dummy lets
ﬁou succeed if South has all five

earts. Again the contract is 7NT
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Start by entering dummy with the YK.

If North shows out finesse your %10,
cross with the #Q and finesse again.

If both defenders follow suit return to
the West hand with the YA. If South is
seen to have started with ¥] 7 5 4 you
have the #Q as an entry to dummy to take
the marked finesse.

Sometimes when you have a two-way
finesse with nothing to guide your choice
you should decide by looking at your
subsidiary chances.

How should you tackle the
combinations in (f) and (g)?
¥ KJ10543

I

In (f) you can catch ¥Q 6 or YQ 7 6 in
either hand if you correctly guess which
way to finesse, while ¥Q 8 7 6 in ecither
hand will leave you with one heart loser
whatever you do. So can you deal with
any 4-1 heart break? You can cater for
West holding the singleton ¥Q if you
start by leading low to the YA, intending
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In (g) your main chance lies in a 3-2 dia-

mond break with you correctly guessing
the position of the #Q. Provided you start
by cashing one top honour before taking
the finesse (eg. #A, then finesse North's
#]) you won't lose to a singleton #Q. How
about other 4-1 breaks?
_ Possession of the 48 in your hand does
give you extra options. You must start by
cashing dummy’s #K. Then lead the ¢].
You are playing East for the Q.

If East fails to cover the 4] let it run and
you will be guaranteed four diamond
tricks.

If East covers the #] with the #Q you
will take the #A. Then if the layout is as in
(h) you will have a marked finesse against
East’s 49,
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In the final example your play is deter-
mined by how many tricks you need in a
vital suit. You have bid hand (i) to 6&
playing teams of four. How do you tackle
the trump suit?
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You have some chance of avoiding a
spade loser. If South has the #K double-
ton you can lead the #6 from the East
hand to your #Q and then cash the #A,
felling South's #K.

However you should not be thinking in
this way. You can afford one spade loser,
so your first question is: “What is my
main chance of losing only one trick?

Clearly you will succeed if trumps are
3-2. Do you have any realistic chance of
avoiding two trump losers if the suit
breaks 4-17 Sadly, not much, but you can
succeed if either defender started with a
singleton #K. You must start by cashing
your #A, If both defenders follow small
you will need a 3-2 break.
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