MOST players have a vague sort of fegl.
ing that if one opponent has opened the
pidding it pays to assume he has any
missing points. This tends to be true, but
the expert aims to replace such woolly
thinking with something more precise.

After the following bidding sequence
-ou arrive in a contract of 44, North leads
the ¥2 and South tries to cash the YQA K.
Your contract depends on not losing a
trump trick. Do you feel confident?
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You should feel totally secure. You are
only missing 15 high card points. South
has 9 points in hearts and must hold the
¢A to bring his total to 13 (within the
range of the INT opening). If he also held
the #Q that would come to 15 points so
North has it. Because South must hold at
least two spades for his hand to be bal-
anced North’s #Q must be singleton or
doubleton, so ruff the third heart and
cash the #AK.

That wasn't very difficult, was it? The
technique employed was to count South's
points. When one defender has made a
limit bid it tends to be particularly prof-
itable to count the points he has shown
and mentally juggle the other missing
honour cards to make up his bid.

Now slightly change the hand:
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The bidding is the same as above.
North starts with the ¥2, South taking
with the ¥J and continuing with the YA
and YK. You trump the YK and cash the
#A but both opponents follow suit with
low spades. What now? .

South is being either rather stupid or
very clever. Let us assume the former. He
seems to hold YAKQ). In that case to be
within the range of his opening INT bid
he will hold either the #A or #Q, but not
both. It would clear up your problem if
you could find out who has the ¢A, so at
trick 4 lead the ). In the unlikely event of
this holding the trick you should lead the
% to your 4K and aim to discard your
maining diamonds on dummy’s clubs.
More likely one of the defenders will take
the #A, telling you who holds the #Q-
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shows how counting
improves your bridge...

declarer will find it profitable to count
points. There seem to be two heart tricks
for the defence plus the ¢A. The contract
may well hinge on declarer divining the
position of the #Q, and if declarer is
going to employ ‘discovery’ techniques, it
will pay South to feed him some false
information.

So how can declarer know? He can
study the defenders’ carding methods
(South would surely not dare to risk let-
ting declarer win a trick with the double-
ton ¥Q) and then judge whether he
believes South to be capable of such well
reasoned trickery. My advice would be to
assume South is being honest unless you
have good reason to believe otherwise.
How many players at your local club are
capable of such beautifully reasoned
defence? If he has succeeded in fooling
you, take it as a compliment! At least he
considered you a good enough opponent

to be fooled!
Try your skill at the hand below. North

starts with the #], overtaken with the ¢Q
and South tries to cash the #AKQ. You
ruff the third round with the #10, discov-
ering that North started with #]105. When
ou cross to dummy’s #A North shows
out so you successfully finesse your a|
and draw South’s #Q with your ¢K.
That still leaves you nfedmg to guests
2 s correctly to make your contract.
,!1_1}:-;:3312 no harmyin cashing the #AKQ,
South following with the #910]. Decision
time! You lead the ¥4 and play from
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Try constructing South’s hand. You
know he started with 4 diamonds and 3
spades. He seems to be 3-3-4-3 shape,
(possibly 3-2-4-4 if he is playing games in
clubs).

Does he hold hand (a) or (b)?

() #Q82 YQB85 ¢AKQ9 #J109
(b)#Q82 YAB5 ¢ AKQ9 #]109

The key here is what didn’t happen.
With a balanced hand South preferred to
open 14 rather than INT. You need to
know the range of his INT opening bid. If
he plays the weak No Trump he surely
cannot hold (a), otherwise he will have
had no rebid. Play him for (b): too strong
to open INT and hence planning a No
Trump rebid.

Of course if his opening INT shows 15-
17 or 16-18 points he won't have hand (b).

When you first discover counting it
undoubtedly opens up a new world to
your declarer play. At first it will slow
you down, perhaps to the frustration of
your opponents and the tournament
director. With practice you will speed up,
but even then, you need to be practical in
judging exactly when counting is worth-
while. While playing bridge you have
plenty to think about, and unnecessary
counting is quite likely to distract your
energy from other, more fruitful pursuits.

Obviously you will consider counting
when you have a choice of plays.

Equally, in the hands we have seen one
of the defenders has made a limit bid,
which should always alert you to the pos-
sibility of counting points. Another time
when counting points is likely to be help-
ful is when a defender has passed but
subsequently shown up with points.
Auctions which start: 1¥-No-No are
always revealing if the opening bidder
becomes a defender. Responder has
denied 6 points!

Finally, be aware of what has and
hasn’t been led. Consider these scenarios:

(1) Defenders bid and supported hearts
before you bought the contract in spades.
Hearts were not led, instead a diamond
from an undesirable holding like #Qxxx.
Why?

Almost certainly the opening leader has
the YA and is afraid you hold the YK.
Therefore leader’s partner has the ¥K.

(2) Defenders bid and supported hearts
before you bought the contract in spades.
The ¥3 is led to the YA. Who has what?

The opening leader has the YK (other-
wise the YA by third hand would be a
false card). With YKQ opener would have
led the YK, so leader's partner holds the
vQ.

There really are so many clues available
if you train your mind to seek them out.

Six of the best

A beginner part way through the

and holding five cards pausedp:g
thought and then said brightly:
“We've only got to get six more |-
tricks and we've made our contract”. t




