Release 2.19q


0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2024
2024/25 Committee

President: Willie O'Gorman (086 8443316)

Vice-President: Frances Daly (087 7791507)

Treasurer: Helen McDevitt (086 3743662)

Secretary: Róisín O'Gorman (085 7360927) 

Owen Cummins

Tom Daly

Teresa Farrell

Gerry Kyne

Mary Lyons

David Melody

Geraldine Murphy

Matchmaker: Noirin Fleming (087 2942713)

Secretary's Report 2012




Secretary's Report 17th May 2012



I welcome you all to the AGM and I am pleased to report that the year 2011/2012 has been very successful for the club. 


Our membership is 210 comprising of Novice 5, B 66, A2 95, A1 19 and M 25.  There are 26 names currently on a waiting list. 


On November 18th our Charity Night was held in aid of the St. Vincent de Paul Blanchardstown at which a superb €2,000 was raised.


We had two very lively social nights during the year.  Our Christmas Party was held on December 15th and our Club Outing in Luttrellstown Golf Club on March 8th.  Both events were very well attended and proved to be most enjoyable evenings.


Congratulations to our teams this year who entered the Mid-Leinster Inter Club Team of Four competitions.  Our Master Team; John Macnamara, Deirdre Ridgway, Tony Smyth, David Melody and Jim Egan  came first and our A Team; Jean Neary, Brian Mullan, Ann Murphy & Maria Lister came third.




The major club competitions had an average of 30 tables, weekly competitions, September - April, an average of 26 tables and Summer Bridge had an excellent average of 17 tables.


I would like to congratulate the following winners of our major competitions during the year :


Team of Four


A/Master          Catherine Yeats, Valerie Melody, Sylvia Kelly & Vera Smyth

B/Novice          Sheila Healy, Bea Canavan, Majella Maguire Flanagan & Frances O’Donovan 

Autumn Pairs


1st                    Richie Fallon and Ann Moynihan

2nd                    Mary Higgins and Bernadette O’Keeffe

3rd                    George Kearns and Sean McNamee


Best B:             Rosemary Kennedy, Geraldine Keane


Club Pairs


1st                    Ann Clerkin and Mary O’Sullivan

2nd                    Tony and Noreen Smyth

3rd                    Eithne Loftus and Richie Fallon

Josie Gilligan Trophy


Winners:           Yvonne McEntee and Mary O’Flynn


President's Prize


1st                    Patsy Kelly

2nd                    John Macnamara

3rd                    Maura Harte

B                      Mary O’Flynn



Mixed Team of Four


Winners :          Deirdre Ridgway, John Macnamara, Noelle Coughlan & John Moran   



Our Turkey and Easter Egg competitions were also very enjoyable nights.



During the past year the Club mourned the deaths of two beloved members; Margaret O’Driscoll and Eileen McGee RIP.


On my own behalf and on behalf of the members I would like to thank the Committee and our President Tony for their enthusiasm and commitment throughout the year, ensuring that all members enjoyed their Bridge and that we have a vibrant Club going forward.






Mary Kearns

Hon Secretary

17th May 2012