Release 2.19n

The Club Diary and Fixture Booklet 2019/2020 is now available at the bar

A revised calendar has been published.

Afternoon Tournament


Avoiding problems at the table

Next Committee Meeting

Tuesday 27th August, 6.00pm


The Winter Pairs is the Club Pairs Championship.
Open to all full members of the club.
Played over 7 or 8 rounds (MP Wednesdays from September).
Entry fee a is one-off £2.50. Plus usual Table Money
The Peter Duff Trophy for the Pairs Championship will be awarded to the pair with the
four best % scores.

The Manning Foster competition is the Club's Teams-of-Four championship, played on the basis of a qualifying round (and if necessary a Quarter Final) followed by a Semi-Final and Final. From the qualifying round (or quarter final), 1st plays 4th and 2nd plays 3rd in the semi-final to be played by end November. Final to be played by end January. 

The J K McDonald Trophy is the Club's individual tournament.

The Westchester Cup is a Teams-of-Four competition.

The Nancy Barr Trophy is a match-pointed mixed pairs tournament.

The Helen Clarkson Cup is a match-pointed pairs tournament.

The Dunmow Flitch is a match-pointed married couples tournament.

The James Clarkson Cup is awarded to the most successful player in the Wednesday tournaments in a calendar year.

The Dave Jolley Cup and the Currie Glen Trophy are for the Men's and Women's Handicapped Pairs competitions respectively.

The Chris Harrison Trophy is a pivot Teams-of-Four event. Each player plays a number of boards with each other member of the team.

Leading players in the Club's main competitions will be invited to play for the Carl Dickel Trophy, a one-round match-pointed pairs tournament.