Bolton Bridge Club
Release 2.19o
LOP Online
Scorer: JAS
Bolton F2F Tyldesley Cup
Scorer: Bolton Bridge Club
Bolton F2F
Scorer: Bolton Bridge Club
21st October 2021
Bolton Online
21st October 2021
Bolton F2F
22nd October 2021
LOP Intermediates (Max NGS 10)
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2021

Thank You for Visiting Bolton BC Web Site
Thank You for Visiting Bolton BC Web Site

Come and visit us at 4 Chorley Old Road, Bolton BL1 3AA. Phone 01204 526484.We welcome players of all standards and have lessons for beginners as well as practice and supervised play for the less experienced.The premises are easily accessed and have ample car parking.


Follow us on Facebook

And Tweet on Twitter

Recent Updates
Committee Minutes
20th Oct 2021 10:37 BST
Home Page
17th Oct 2021 11:39 BST
Archive 2021
Bolton Congress on BBO 4th/5th Sept 2021
The 75th anniversary Bolton Congress will be held on Saturday 4th September on BBO.
Championship Pairs 2 x 22 boards 11am - 5pm.
The Teams originally scheduled for Sunday has now been cancelled due to lack of entries
Full details and entries at 
Diamond Jubilee Individual - the Results !

Thank you to everyone who played in our first online Individual event, and the first celebrating our 75th Anniversary year.

Congratulations to our overall winner:   Jackie Clough

And well done to our winners of the Lower and Medium Handicap prizes:

NGS 6 and below winner :  Pauline Cull 

NGS 7 - 9 winner:  Christine Burgess

We look forward to holding more individual events later in the year.

Mixed Pairs Winners January 2021

♦ ♥ Congratulations to the Winners of the Mixed Pairs BPS event on Wednesday 13th ♥ ♥ 

Open category:   Marianne Farr and Jeff Smith

NGS 10 & below :  Jackie O'Hanlan and Brian Frew

Diamond Jubilee Mens Pairs and Ladies Pairs - the Results !

   Congratulations to the Winners of the Diamond Jubilee Mens Pairs and Ladies Pairs    

   Winners of the Ladies Pairs:   Irene Bowers and Dorothy Molins    

and well done to our Runners-up:  Wendy Blyth and Jay Cooper

   Winners of the Mens Pairs:  Alan Whittam and Paul Evans    

and well done goes to our Runners-up:  Duncan Ault and Paul Vose

   Thank you all for playing in, and supporting this event   

BPS Spring Competitions 2021

The new series of Lancashire BPS competition events starts in February. They are open to all registered BPS online players. The Open Championships will be held on the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month over 6 sessions. The Mens, Ladies and Mixed competitions will be held on the 2nd Wednesday respectively of each month.

Mixed Pairs Championship Wednesday April 14th

Anybody can play on any of these dates but a prize will be given for the best pair in the category Open and Under 10 (average for the pair) In the relevant month. No pair can win more than one prize so if an Under 10 pair is the overall winner they will not count in the Under 10. Prizes will be given in the form of a free BPS session. Any disputes will be decided by the BPS committee whose decision is final. All winners appear on the Southport BPS Honors Board.

Austin Barnes Trophy Tuesday Feb 2 over 11 weeks

Tonight sees the start of the Austin Barnes Trophy. This has been renamed from the Spring Ladder in Austin's honour. The best 8 of 11 Bolton BC games on a Tuesday night will be used to decide the winners with the first 3 places getting prizes. The ongoing positions will be on the Competitions page.


The next two lessons with John Stell will be as follows:

Friday 5th March at 7.15 pm - Subject - Declarer Card Play - Suit Combinations

Friday 12th March at 7.15 pm - Subject - More Transfers

If you would like to attend and haven't already registered with John pease email to  Please do this in plenty of time for inclusion- thank you.

Congratulations - BPS Men's Pairs Winners

Thank you to everyone who played in the Lancashire BPS Mens Pairs event on Wednesday 10th February.

It was a clean sweep for Bolton players. Congratulations go to:

Overall Winners:   Mike Nicholson and Rod Greenhalgh

NGS 10 & below Winners:  Roy Goddard and Alan Talbot

Diamond Jubilee Mens/Ladies Pairs - The Winners

   Congratulations to the Winners of the Diamond Jubilee Mens Pairs and Ladies Pairs competitions on Wednesday 3rd March 2021   

   Winners of the Ladies Pairs:   Irene Bowers and Dorothy Molins     

and well done also to our Runners-up:  Wendy Blyth and Jay Cooper

    In the Mens Pairs the winners were:  Alan Whittam and Paul Evans    

and well done goes to our Runners-up:  Duncan Ault and Paul Vose

    Thank you all for playing in, and supporting this event    



Lancs BPS Ladies Pairs Winners

Congratulations to the Winners of the Lancashire BPS Ladies Pairs held as part of the session on Wednesday 10th March

   Open Category Winners: Sue Kenny & Angela Lawton     

   Handicap Category Winners:  Cath Ashworth & Judith Jury    

The next Lancashire BPS special event is the Mixed Pairs to be held as part of the BPS event on Wednesday April 14th

Charity Tuesday 30th March

   Thank you to everyone who played in our Charity Events on Tuesday.   

   With your support we have raised another £300 to help our chosen local healthcare and support charities    

BPS Hand Commentary Here

Charity Tuesday 30th March
Annual General Meeting - Election of Officers and Directors

Our Annual General Meeting on Monday 29th March 2021 voted unanimously in favour of the following election of Officers and Directors of the Club:

President:       Heather Carr

Secretary:      Susan Squires

Treasurer:      Stephen Hazlitt

Directors:       Jay Cooper.  Ken Hardman,  Andy Hitchon,  Paul Vose

Directors continuing in office but not required to be re-elected this year:  Duncan Ault, Wendy Blyth, Paul Evans, Linda Hitchen, Vanessa Openshaw, Chris Quegan, June Timperley and Jeff Smith

Diamond Jubilee Mixed Pairs - The Results

   Thank you to everyone who played in the Bolton BC Diamond Jubilee Mixed Pairs competition on Wednesday 7th April 2021.  We had an excellent attendance of 30 pairs.   

Congratulations to the Overall Winners:     ♦ ♦ ♦  Jay Cooper and Paul Vose ♦ ♦ ♦  

and to the overall runners up:      Shirley Wilkinson and Brian Frew     

Well done to our NGS Category Winners.   

In the NGS 10 and below category:      Irene Bowers and Ralph Jones   

In the NGS 7 and below category:   Sandra Todd and Ian Price  

New Friday 7pm Duplicate

Please note that from Friday 2nd July, BPS will be running an evening duplicate at 7pm.

Bolton Online Summer Pairs

A special competiton was held on Wednesday 7th July in preparation for having regular Wednesday evening games once we can safely re-open the Club.

   The Online Summer Pairs was won by John Morrell and Alan Whittam. A close 2nd was Cath Ashworth and Cilla Prescott. Congratulations!   

Face-to-face Bridge is BACK !! 😃😃

smiley  Face-to-Face bridge has returned. Great to see so many familiar smiling facessmiley

heartheart We have 4 sessions per week. More will be added as required.  heartheart

We are now  running 4 sessions per week, Monday evening at 7:30pm, Tuesday afternoon at 1pm and Wednesday evening at 7:30pm and Friday afternoon at 1.00 pm

There will be a host available at all sessions, so everyone who attends will be assured a game, whether you come with a partner or not.

  We look forward to welcoming you back to Bolton Bridge Club, and once again enjoying playing cards and socialising with friends.   

Bolton Congress Pairs Sat 4 Sep 2021

The 75th anniversary Bolton Congress Pairs was held on BBO today (Sat Sept 4th 2021). Congratulations to the winners Jeremy Dhondy & Andrew Petrie. Close behind in second place was John Holland & Jackie Pye and third was Rhona Goldenfield & Marianne Farr. There were 17 pairs taking part. See the results section for fuill detailed results.