SpadeHeart 
Bolton Bridge Club
 DiamondClub
Release 2.19o
Results
BPS Online Restricted
Scorer: BP
BPS Online
Scorer: SED
Bolton Online
Scorer: SED
Calendar
10th April 2021
BPS Online
7pm
11th April 2021
BPS Online
2pm
12th April 2021
BPS Online Restricted
2pm
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2021
Bulletin

Thank You for Visiting Bolton BC Web Site
Thank You for Visiting Bolton BC Web Site

Come and visit us at 4 Chorley Old Road, Bolton BL1 3AA. Phone 01204 526484.We welcome players of all standards and have lessons for beginners as well as practice and supervised play for the less experienced.The premises are easily accessed and have ample car parking.
 

Facebook
Facebook

Follow us on Facebook

And Tweet on Twitter

Recent Updates
Home Page
10th Apr 2021 16:19 BST
Mixed Pairs
8th Apr 2021 09:51 BST
Welcome to Bolton Bridge Online - duplicate sessions held every day
Diamond Jubilee Mixed Pairs - The Results

   Thank you to everyone who played in the Bolton BC Diamond Jubilee Mixed Pairs competition on Wednesday 7th April 2021.  We had an excellent attendance of 30 pairs.   

Congratulations to the Overall Winners:     ♦ ♦ ♦  Jay Cooper and Paul Vose ♦ ♦ ♦  

and to the overall runners up:      Shirley Wilkinson and Brian Frew     

Well done to our NGS Category Winners.   

In the NGS 10 and below category:      Irene Bowers and Ralph Jones   

In the NGS 7 and below category:   Sandra Todd and Ian Price  

Last updated : 7th Apr 2021 21:54 BST
LESSONS

The topics for the upcoming lessons are as follows:-

 

Friday 16th April - Benjamised Acol 2C Bid

Friday 23rd April - Benjamised Acol 2D Bid

 

If you are interedted in attending but have not already registered your interest please email to

boltonbridgeclub@gmail.com

Please allow plenty of time to make sure everything is in place in time for the lesson.

Last updated : 10th Apr 2021 16:19 BST
BPS New Guidelines

Following on from a recent meeting of the BPS Steering Group, there are a number of issues that we need to draw to your attention:

  • From Thursday 1 April, Undos for carding mis-clicks will be allowed.  These must only be for mechanical errors and not a change of mind.  If the mis-click request is not allowed by the opponents, then the TD should be called.  This policy will be reviewed after 3 months.
  • Compliance with the online alerting requirements is patchy to say the least.  BPS will shortly publish some guidance on alerting and explaining but there are 3 overriding principles: 
  1. At the start of a round please give an overview of your system.  Something like “Acol, 3 Wk2s, Weak NT, Standard leads, standard signals and discards (HELD), Weak jump overcalls”. You can keep this line in your paste buffer to use from round to round, if you don’t want to keep typing it in.
  2. Every time you make a conventional bid you need to alert and explain it.  You also need to alert 1N and 2N opening ranges and when you open 2 of a suit.  Because your partner can’t see your explanation, you should err on the side of over-alerting online.
  3. You can request an explanation of a bid by clicking on the bid.  If you don’t get an answer mail the opponent using Chat and ask him/her.  Don’t worry about asking one opponent for an explanation of a bid or a signal. As long as you send the message to the opponent who made the bid or play, only he/she will see it and there will be no danger of unauthorised information being passed.

 

  • Restricted events – please respect the NGS guidelines for the Monday afternoon, Thursday evening and Friday afternoon sessions.
Last updated : 2nd Apr 2021 16:53 BST
Annual General Meeting - Election of Officers and Directors

Our Annual General Meeting on Monday 29th March 2021 voted unanimously in favour of the following election of Officers and Directors of the Club:

President:       Heather Carr

Secretary:      Susan Squires

Treasurer:      Stephen Hazlitt

Directors:       Jay Cooper.  Ken Hardman,  Andy Hitchon,  Paul Vose

Directors continuing in office but not required to be re-elected this year:  Duncan Ault, Wendy Blyth, Paul Evans, Linda Hitchen, Vanessa Openshaw, Chris Quegan, June Timperley and Jeff Smith

Last updated : 3rd Apr 2021 09:20 BST
Charity Tuesday 30th March

   Thank you to everyone who played in our Charity Events on Tuesday.   

   With your support we have raised another £300 to help our chosen local healthcare and support charities    

BPS Hand Commentary Here

Charity Tuesday 30th March
Last updated : 3rd Apr 2021 09:09 BST
BPS Spring Competitions 2021

The new series of Lancashire BPS competition events starts in February. They are open to all registered BPS online players. The Open Championships will be held on the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month over 6 sessions. The Mens, Ladies and Mixed competitions will be held on the 2nd Wednesday respectively of each month.

Mixed Pairs Championship Wednesday April 14th

Anybody can play on any of these dates but a prize will be given for the best pair in the category Open and Under 10 (average for the pair) In the relevant month. No pair can win more than one prize so if an Under 10 pair is the overall winner they will not count in the Under 10. Prizes will be given in the form of a free BPS session. Any disputes will be decided by the BPS committee whose decision is final. All winners appear on the Southport BPS Honors Board.

Last updated : 11th Mar 2021 22:02 GMT
Normal BBO Schedule
Normal BBO Schedule

Bolton Games
Tuesday, Wednesday 6:55pm
Thursday 2:55pm

BPS Open Games
Monday, Saturday 7pm
Tuesday, Thursday 11am
Wednesday, Sunday 2pm

BPS Beginner/Improvers NGS 7 & under
Monday 2pm

BPS Beginners NGS 6 & under
Thursday 7pm

BPS NGS 10 & under
Friday 2pm

Forthcoming Special Competitions
Tue 13 Apr   Bolton Austin Barnes Ladder End
Wed 14 Apr  BPS Mixed Pairs  2pm
Mon 19 Apr   BPS Open Session 6 of 6  7pm
Wed 5 May   Bolton Individual 6:55pm

Undos in Bolton Event

The Bolton Tournament committee has decided that in all Bolton events, Undos in bidding and play are allowed. Given the nature of online bridge, we feel it unfair to refuse a request which invariably will be due to a mechanical error. In case of dispute, the Undo should still be allowed and the TD called before the end of hand to get a ruling. 

Bolton TD Rota
Date TD
Thu 8 Apr Sandra
Tue 13 Apr Brian
Wed 14 Apr Stephen
Thu 15 Apr Brian
Tue 20 Apr Brian
Wed 21 Apr Paul
Thu 22 Apr Sandra
Tue 27 Apr Jeff
Wed 28 Apr Paul
Thu 29 Apr Sandra
Tue May 4 Stephen
Wed May 5 Jeff
Thu May 6 Sandra
Tue May 11 Stephen
Wed May 12 Paul
Thu May 13 Brian
Tue May 18 Sandra
Wed May 19 Stephen
Thu May 20 Jeff
Tue May 25 Brian
Wed May 26 Paul
Thu May 27 Sandra
Tue Jun 1 Stephen
Twed Jun 2 Paul
Thu Jun 3 Sandra
Tue Jun 8 Brian
Wed Jun 9 Stephen
Thu Jun 10 Jeff
Tue Jun 15 Sandra
Wed Jun 16 Jeff
Thu Jun 17 Paul
Tue Jun 22 Sandra
Wed Jun 23 Stephen
Thu Jun 24 Jeff
Tue Jun 29 Brian
Wed Jun 30 Paul

 

Upload from BPS Files to Bolton website 

Mon - Stephen
Tue,Wed,Thu - Bolton TD
Fri - Brian
Sat, Sun -  Jeff