Release 2.19q
Kay Dow Trophy

Some of the interactive elements on this page are best viewed on a laptop or desktop

Rules for the Kay Dow Trophy

The Kay Dow Trophy is an annual competition based on the scores of each individual player in our club duplicate sessions on the first Friday of each month.  The six best percentage scores for each player during the competition year are added together and the trophy is awarded to the player with the highest aggregate total.  Players are only allowed to count their first three scores with any particular partner and only scores achieved with club members are eligible.


  • Annual competition for an individual winner in our duplicate pairs sessions on the first Friday of each month.
  • Our competition year now runs from the beginning of July until the end of the following June (previously September to August)
  • Based on cumulative percentage scores using each player's best six percentage scores. 
  • Only the first three scores achieved with any one partner during the competition year may be counted towards the trophy score. (Scores subsequent to the third are not counted for this particular competition but remain valid for all other purposes including EBU Masterpoints, the National Grading Scheme and/or handicapping)
  • Only scores achieved with players who are club members are eligible. (We will, at our discretion, re-instate scores achieved with non-members who subsequently become members during the competition year)
  • There is no restriction on the number of different partners you may include in the qualifying six scores.


So as to qualify for the competition many players find it useful to play with four different partners during the year but this is not a formal requirement and provided you play with at least two different club members during the year you will be eligible.
Under normal circumstances there should be 12 qualifying sessions, one on the first Friday of every month but circumstances may cause one or more sessions to be cancelled.  In the event that more than one session is cancelled the number of qualifying scores will be reduced as considered appropriate.


Former Holders of the Kay Dow Trophy


 YEAR   WINNER                  
 2019   Gill Jones Results
 2018   Robbie Roberts Results
 2017   Gareth Thomas Results
 2016   David Burrows Results
 2015   Tony Pearson Results
 2014   David Edwards Results
 2013   David Edwards Results
 2012   Tony Pearson Results
 2011   Tony Pearson Results
 2010   Gareth Thomas Results
 2009   Ray Parkinson Results
 2008   Ray Parkinson Results
 2007   Ray Parkinson
 2006   Rob Roberts
 2005   Ray Parkinson
 2004   Ray Parkinson
 2003   Ray Parkinson
 2002   Ray Parkinson
 2001   David Edwards
 2000   Dr. Manuel Mendick
 1999   David Edwards
 1998   Ray Parkinson
 1997   David Edwards
 1996   Ian Gilmour
 1995   Jon Fjortoft
 1994   Jon Fjortoft
 1993   John Bell
 1992   Ray Parkinson
 1991   Dr. Manuel Mendick
 1990   Ray Parkinson
 1989   Dr. Manuel Mendick
 1988   Jon Fjortoft
 1987   Dr. Manuel Mendick
 1986   M. Falk
 1985   Sue Fjortoft
 1984   J. Sumner
 1983   L.A. Webster
 1982   W. Tallon
 1981   Dr. Manuel Mendick
 1980   L.A. Webster
 1979   Dr. Manuel Mendick
 1978   M. Falk
 1977   M. Bartholomew
 1976   M. Bartholomew
 1975   M. Bartholomew
 1974   L.A. Webster
 1973   E.M. Webster
 1972   Q. Felton