Release 2.19q
Norman Green Trophy
Rules for the Norman Green Trophy

The Norman Green Trophy is an annual competition based on the scores of each individual player in our club duplicate sessions on the second Wednesday of each month.  Each player's best six scores in the competition year are added together and the trophy is awarded to the player with the highest aggregate total.  To be eligible to win the six qualifying scores must include scores with more than one partner and only scores achieved with club members are eligible.



  • Annual competition for an individual winner in our duplicate pairs sessions on the second Wednesday of each month.
  • Our competition year now runs from the beginning of July until the end of the following June (previously September to August)
  • Based on cumulative percentage scores using each player's best six percentage scores (not handicapped). 
  • Must include scores with at least two partners (i.e. no more than five scores with any particular partner can be counted)
  • Only scores achieved with players who are club members are eligible. (We will, at our discretion, re-instate scores achieved with non-members who subsequently become members during the competition year)
  • There is no restriction on the number of different partners you may include in the qualifying six scores.



So as to qualify for the competition many players find it useful to play with one partner for half of the year and a different partner for the other half of the year but this is not a formal requirement and provided you play with at least two different club members during the year you will be eligible.
Under normal circumstances there should be 12 qualifying sessions, one on the second Wednesday of every month but circumstances may cause one or more sessions to be cancelled.  In the event that more than one session is cancelled the number of qualifying scores will be reduced as considered appropriate.


Former winners of the Norman Green Trophy


 YEAR   WINNER                  
 2019   Tony Pearson Results
 2018   Robbie Roberts Results
 2017   Gillian Clarkson Results
 2016   Gareth Thomas Results
 2015   Gareth Thomas Results
 2014   Dave Edwards Results
 2013   Tony Pearson Results
 2012   Tony Pearson Results
 2011   Dave Edwards Results
 2010   Cameron Boyd Results
 2009   Ray Parkinson Results
 2008   Ray Parkinson Results
 2007   Ray Parkinson
 2006   Dave Edwards
 2005   Ray Parkinson
 2004   Ray Parkinson
 2003   Ray Parkinson
 2002   Ron Higgins
 2001   Ron Higgins
 2000   Maurice McCann
 1999   Ray Parkinson
 1998   Dr. Manuel Mendick
 1997   Dave Edwards
 1996   Ray Parkinson
 1995   Maurice McCann
 1994   Jon Fjortoft
 1993   John Bell
 1992   Margaret Gilbertson (Ainscough)
 1991   Dr. Manuel Mendick
 1990   Jon Fjortoft
 1989   John Bell
 1988   Dr. Manuel Mendick
 1987   Jon Fjortoft
 1986   Dorothy Beach
 1985   Dorothy Beach
 1984   Dave Edwards
 1983   Y.A. Walker