Release 2.19q
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2023


NEBA Summer Pairs

Frank Bouweraerts
Irina Hendrickx

EBU Northern Easter Congress
2023 Third Place

Brian Myers
Denise Barham-Hall

NEBA Swiss Pairs

Audrey Bainbridge
John Dobson


Latner Trophy 2023 Winners
Dave Thompson
John Gray

Carpenter Cup 2023 Winners
Denise Barham-Hall
John Bernard Portwood

Anniversary Trophy 2023 Winners
John Bernard Portwood
Denise Barham-Hall

Walker Bowl 2022 Winners
John Bernard Portwood
Denise Barham-Hall

Godfrey Award 2023
Keith Richardson



News Page Archive 2019 - 2023

Congratulations to Frank and Irina

Frank Bouweraerts and Irina Hendrickx came 2nd nationally in the Thursday SIM Spring Pairs event.
Full results: Sim Pairs (

Published 21/04/2023


Bridge Calendar

Please find the bridge calendar for Aug-23 to Jul-24 under the Calendar heading 

Published 30/07/2023

Latner Trophy Result

Congratulations to David Thompson and John Gray for winning the Latner Trophy, after handicap adjustment, on 29 June 2023.
Final positions after the handicap adjustment were (actual scores in brackets):

1. Dave Thompson & John Gray 67.00 (59.03)
2. Alison Young & Alan Armstrong 60.63 (50.00)
3. John Portwood and Denise Barham-Hall 59.72 (59.72)
4. Keith Richardson & Barbara Stott 54.79 (43.75)
5. Audrey Bainbridge & Brian Myers 54.60 (53.47)
6. Frank Bouweraerts & Irina Hendrickx 53.48 (50.69)
7. Jane Hattersley & David Hall 50.84 (49.31)
8. Malcolm Dawson & Peter Whitton 45.94 (40.00)

Published 30/06/2023

NEBA Summer Pairs Success

Congratulations to members Frank Bouweraerts and Irina Hendrickx on winning the NEBA Summer Pairs at Hexham

Published 19/06/2023

Paul Beard & Jean Milne

The club is sorry to hear the sad news of the death of two of our former members, Paul Beard and Jean Milne. They were both long standing members of the club and supported us over many years. They will be much missed. 


Published 18/06/2023



Congratulation to Frank Bouweraerts on his recent promotion to 2 Star Master

Published 21/05/2023


Success for Brian and Denise

Congratulations to Brian Myers and Denise Barham-Hall, who absolutely starred by finishing 3rd in the Swiss Pairs in Northern Easter Congess at Harrogate on 8th April. That was out of 28 pairs!

Published 11/04/2023



Chairman’s Christmas Message, 2022

Dear All,
We have now been able to enjoy a full year’s bridge without the threat of any lockdowns. It has been a real pleasure to continue to meet friends and experience the joys of face to face bridge. It has been reassuring that members have continued to support the club and ensure that we remain viable when other clubs have had to close due to lack of players. Our social events were able to go ahead and were very well attended and appreciated by everyone. This social interaction is so
very important after the trials and tribulations of the last three years.
Many thanks to the Club Secretary, Treasurer, Team Captain, Webmaster, Scorers, Committee Members and all those who have helped to ensure the smooth running of the club. We are so dependent on willing volunteers.
I wish all members and their families a very happy Christmas and a successful and healthy New Year. We’ll meet again on the 29 th December.

Brian Myers, Chairman

Published 21/12/2022


EBU Master Point Promotions

Congratulations to Denise Barham-Hall who was recently promoted to the rank of National Master.

Published 21/12/2022


EBU Sim Pairs Prize Draw

At the recent EBU AGM the usual annual prize draw was made for all the clubs who have entered Sim Pairs events.
Bishop Auckland Bridge Club were one of the lucky recipients and we have won £200! This should certainly help club funds!

Published 08/12/2022


Annual Dinner Presentations

On 10 November 2022, at the annual dinner, prizes and trophees were presented to the winners of the 2022 competitions.

Anniversary Trophy
Mr Frank Bouweraerts & Ms Irina Hendrickx

Walker Bowl
Mrs Denise Barham-Hall & Mr John Portwood

Latner Trophy
Mr Frank Bouweraerts & Ms Irina Hendrickx

Carpenter Trophy
Mrs Audrey Bainbridge & Mr Brian Myers

Master Points Trophy
Mr Brian Myers

Godfrey Award
Mr Keith Richardson

Winners on the evening of the annual dinner
Mrs Audrey Bainbridge & Mr Brian Myers

Published 12/11/2022


NEBA Congress Result - Swiss Teams

On Sunday 6th November 2022, a Bishop Auckland team consisting of Denise Barham-Hall, Audrey Bainbridge, John Dobson and Brian Myers, played in the Swiss Teams event part of the NEBA Congress.
In an excellent performance they finished second overall.

Also a big thank you to David Thompson for the event organisation and to John Portwood for acting as one of the directors on all days of the congress. 

Published 06/11/2022


EBU Master Points Promotions

Congratulations to John Dobson who has recently achieved the rank of Premier National Master. Well done John!

Published 17/10/2022


On Sunday 25th September and against a field of 72 top regional and national pairs, Club Chairman Brian Myers partnered by Club Captain Denise Barham-Hall finished in fourth position in the Cumberland and Westmorland Green Point Swiss Pairs Congress. 
Their very creditable score of 93 victory points represented 66.5% of the maximum available. 
Congratulations go to them both on an outstanding performance.

Published 26/09/2022


Walker Bowl, 2022

Many congratulations to John Portwood and Denise Barham-Hall who won the Walker Bowl with a score of 62.70%.

Published 23/09/2022


Audrey and John win NEBA Swiss Pairs

Congratulations to Audrey Bainbridge and John Dobson upon winning the NEBA Swiss Pairs held at Durham Bridge Club on the 15th September 2022.

An excellent result - well done!

Published 19/09/2022



We have regrettably had to increase the table money to £4 per session for members

(£4.50 for non-members), applicable from Thu 7th July 2022.

Published 02/07/2022

Congratulations to Frank Bouweraerts and Irina Hendrickx who comfortably won the LATNER TROPHY 2022 by a 7% margin.


The CARPENTER TROPHY 2022 has been won by Audrey Bainbridge and Brian Myers with an average score of 56.92%, counting the 4 best results out of 6. 
The full listing of final places may be accesssed from the main menu  'Competitions/Current'  -  'Carpenter Trophy 2022'.


Congratulations go to Frank Bouweraerts and Irina Hendrickx who in a closely fought competition for the first three places won the ANNIVERSARY TROPHY 2022.

(See Results Page for details)


to 31st December 2021 Now Published