Simply memorize and take advantage of the following four Rules. Applicable to situations which occur frequentlly in regular club tournament. .
Opponent leads out of turn.
Case study: The bidding has just finished and you are declarer about to play 3NT. But your right hand opponent leads. Call the Director immediately because there are many advantageous options for you as declarer. The one most of you will not know about is Rule 54(b) where declarer becomes dummy: Yes, you can accept the lead out of turn. The choice to lay down your cards is yours only. (Not your partner`s).
It happens almost every week in almost every tournament. Your partner might have opened one no trump and your right hand opponent then bids one diamond. Call the Director immediately because it might suit you to exercise your right to accept this bid under Rule 27A(1). If you do, the bidding restarts from 1D. Which means you can then bid 1H if, for example, you hold 4 hearts and minimal points. Or you can repeat what your partner said and bid 1NT yourself if you have no four card major and 6 points. If, as usually happens when there is no qualified director available, the opponent is mistakenly told he has no choice but to replace his 1D bid with 2 diamonds, you would then effectively be forced to pass in both those cases.
Case study: You have counted your points and are about to take the 2 hearts from your bidding box when you are distracted by a mobile telephone ringing at the next table. Instead of taking out the 2H bid you put 2S on the table and your left hand opponent immediately tenders the red card. You look down at the table and "Oops, what have I done?" is the question you ask yourself. Don`t panic. Rule 25A comes to your rescue. Call the Director immediately. You can change the bid to 2H with no penalty if it is clear to the Director that 2H was what you intended to bid. These unintended calls more commonly occur when the bidding box cards become worn and sticky.
HESITATION before passing
You can ponder over a bid for three hours but, but...you must not then PASS!
Case study: Your left hand opponent deliberates for an eternity after you have bid 4 hearts - but then he passes**. Your partner also passes but your right hand opponent then calls 4S** which is followed by three passes. If you feel that RH opponent only bid 4S by drawing the conclusion that his partner`s hesitation meant he was thinking of doing the same, then tell your opponent that you "reserve the right to summon the Director later" under rule 16B2 and explain why. If your right hand opponent disputes your claim, call the Director immediately.. What then happens is that you play the hand and, if the Director discovers that very few pairs had bid 4S, he may substitute an advantageous score for the aggrieved party.
**NB: If left hand opponent passes after a long deliberation, I hear many players telling their RH opponents they must then pass. NOT TRUE.
In certain countries, and especially in non affiliated clubs, there are very few people directing who will know these rules. Ignorance is to a certain extent bliss - and unimportant unless members are thinking of playing in big tournaments elsewhere. In which case, they need to be aware of these rules as all their more experienced opponents will be taking legitimate advantage of them. Ignorance of these rules could mean you effectively start off with a handicap of minus 5%. If anyone would like further clarification of these or any of the WBF`s 93 Rules, send me a mail and I will do my best to help.