ACBL Unit 533
Release 2.19q
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2024
Welcome New Members


Duane Anderson
Renee Bannasch

Rank Changes

Emerald Life Master

Janice Randles


NABC Master

Leticia Apfelbeck
Barbara Wegener
William Wegener

Regional Master
Ellie Pines
Sectional Master
Maureen Dunn
Rob Lucas

Junior Master

Sidney Galton
Dean Mann
Harriet Rossetto



Kudos to All!


Read the D22Connection Magazine Online

Access the online D22Connection magazine by clicking the link above or at the upper left of our homepage. See the latest D-22 news, Tournament information and results, Unit newsletters, helpful bridge tips and more!

Unit 533's Annual Awards

Unit 533 presents its Annual Awards in the Spring of each year. To see the complete list of current winners, click on the "Awards and Races" tab on the upper left side of our home page.  You'll find the winners of the Mini-McKenney Award, Helen Shanbrom Ace of Clubs Award and our Volunteer of the Year Award, along with a description of the basis for each award.


2023 Mini-McKenney Awards

0-5 MPs: Barry Korn
5-20 MPs: Clifford Chirls
20-50 MPs: David Marks
50-100 MPs: Robert Mahan
100-200 MPs: Ulrich Eckel
200-300 MPs: Steven Carlson
300-500 MPs: Phillip Robzyk 
500-1000 MPs: Diana Seeb
1000-1500 MPs: Lynne Castoldi 
1500-2500 MPs: Chip Graves
2500-3500 MPs: Lou Goldsmith
3500-5000 MPs: Valerie Aron 
5000-7500 MPs: Janice Randles
7500-10,000 MPs: Martin Blain
Over 10,000 MPs:  Ross Grabel

The McKenney Trophy, named after ACBL Executive Secretary William E. McKenney, was first awarded in 1938. It went to the player who won the most masterpoints during each calendar year.  In 1986, the competition was renamed the Barry Crane Top 500, after Barry Crane, the top masterpoint winner of his era.  The Mini-McKenney Awards were created in 1974 to annually recognize top masterpoint winners in 15 categories based on number of masterpoints held at the beginning of each year, from 0-5 up to over 10,000.  Masterpoints won at all ACBL-santioned events, excluding online points, are counted - including local club games, STaCs, Sectionals, Regionals, NABC tournaments, and Special Events.

Pictured below: The McKenney Trophy with eight-time winner Charles Goren.