Clwb Bridge Aberystwyth [Bridge Club]
Release 2.19p
Recent Updates
15th Mar 2024 11:50 GMT

The Club is delighted to receive visitors.  

Contact the secretary, or mail via the Contacts page, to request a partner if you need one - otherwise just turn up (punctually!).

About the Club
Club History

Aberystwyth Bridge club was formed in the late sixties with about 4 tables meeting in the basement of the Marine Hotel.  A great achievement was that, in those early days and with such a small membership, they won the Welsh Cup . The winning Welsh Cup team in 1973 was Morton Davies , Mike Tedd , John Marek (who later became an MP and played for the Commons v. The Lords) and Lyndon Rogers.

Eric Williams and his wife Ruth ran the club for many years.

The Club swelled and the Aberystwyth Congress at its height would have 70 tables.  The registrations slowly declined and in 2014 the Committee decided, with regret, to halt the Congress while it was still a viable size.  Many were disappointed, but this pattern has affected all competitions in Wales.

The Club has run many internal competitions (the Tink individual, the Jubilee Cup, the Sunday Trophy, the Watson Cup, the Joy Salver): Some Champion Pairs over the years are listed below.

In recent years the membership has slowly dwindled but there are healthy meetings twice a week the year round.  We have members all the way from absolute novice to full International - the latest such is Martin Jones.

Last updated : 20th Mar 2022 13:10 GMT