West Wales Bridge Association


The WWBA Committee Meeting on 30th. had too much business to address selction for the above events, so that will now be done at an extra meeting on March 20th.  Accordingly we would like expressions of interest in representing West Wales in these events to be sent to the ATO by the end of February:  steve@steveburgoyne.plus.com, or Tel:  01656661968.

Event Details:  Held at The Pavilion Llandrindodd Wells, June 2 and 3.  The Perry (Open) and Spickett (Women) are teams events, and we need three pairs for each.  The President's Cup is run on the same format, but is for less experienced players, and we normally invite a club to provide a suitable team, so we would like to hear from a club who would like to provide a team, but it does not necessarily have to comprise a team exclusively from one club.


Teams of Eight - Llanarthe 11/3/2018 

Entries so far:




0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2018

Looking for something to do on Saturday evenings?

Swansea Bridge Club now holds a 'Dragon' night on the 1st Saturday of the month at 7p.m. All are welcome - £4 with prizes.

Perry & Spickett
Perry Shield - 2009

The Perry Shield is an all Wales inter-Area mixed pairs competition. In 2009 it was hosted by the  north Wales Area at The Beaches Hotel, Prestatyn.

Our team was Mike Baker (who was captain) and Eric Hartland, Colin Nash and Robin Parris and Mike Close and Laura Woodruff.  

It was an enjoyable weekend on the whole although very disappointing to slip from clear leaders after the first three matches. The team was pipped for 3rd spot by the North who had to win their last 2 maches against the East and the Mid to do it.  However, our team did have the consolation of winning the individual match against the North.
The competition was again won by the East. congrats to them...commiserations to our folk.
We will just look forward to next year.


Perry Shield - 2009
Spickett Bowl - 2009
Spickett Bowl - 2009

The Spickett Bowl is the Perry equivalent - a national, inter-Area competition, of the Ladies' Pairs: played at the same time and venue as the Perry.

Our 2009 Team was Irene Thomas, who was captain, and Gwyneth Dew, Mary Moore & Diane Jones and Carmel Wiseman & Lee Collier;

The ladies in the Spickett had a poor start, but came back strongly, gaining ground all the time. However, the East had built up a substantial lead which proved unassailable.

So we had to settle for second place again.  Perhaps 2010 will be our year!!!