I just have to share this with you all
A contract of 6 Hearts by South and West leads a spade . Reading this as a singleton Declarer played the Ace and, sitting East Jean Besse the top Swiss player dropped the King! under it without hesitation.Of course Declarer now assumes that this is the singleton. He also believes that he cannot afford to take the Heart finesse in case West wins and gives East a ruff so he plays the Ace and another heart.
Jean Besse wins the trick and plays a spade for Partner to ruff.
THESE PEOPLE PLAY A DIFFERENT GAME!
Another one below -
A LOOK AT THE LAWS
"May I suggest that whenever there is a hiccup of some sort at the table, that you call the Director for a ruling. Lately there have been several cases of a ruling being given by a player at the table. It may well be that the ruling is correct - but I know of at least 3 cases where it has been wrong. I even came across one table playing with Declarer having a penalty card faced on the table! There is a Tournament Director whose job it is to sort things out.
One other point please. No player has the right to tell any other player how they should have bid or played their hand. If you feel that you have been damaged within the rules then call politely ( the word 'please' helps here) for a ruling. Otherwise keep your views to yourself.
Some points to remember.
If you are asked what one of partners bids means (during the auction) and you don`t know - ze anserr ees simples - say "Sorry I don`t know". (Regular partnerships are expected to know their system). PLEASE don`t say something like "I don`t know but I am going to take it as......". This is unauthorised information for Ptr.. Again - if it affects you call for a ruling.
If your Ptr. gives the wrong explanation do not say anything to correct! or glare,sigh, swear etc.. Keep quiet. If you end up as Declarer or dummy then tell the oppts. once the auction is over and before they lead. If you end up as Defender say nothing.
Dummy is Declarer's agent. If Declarer calls for a card to be played from dummy then that card is played. It is NOT dummys` job to say "the lead is in your hand". If dummy can stop Declarer making the mistake before the action then OK. Otherwise play the card as asked. Dummy can check that Declarer has not revoked, and defenders can also check on one another.
When Declarer makes a claim saying that the rest of the tricks are his then PLAY STOPS. Do not say "play them out" etc.. Play stops and if you are dissatisfied then call the TD. When making a claim always say how you intend to play the rest of the hand or why the rest are yours.
Just a few of the points that have risen recently.
And remember of course - it should never!! be considered offensive or aggressive to have the Director called for a ruling."
Thanks to Bill Nicholls for these contributions.