
Deceptive
Defensive
Play

By Brian Gunnell



ª 6 5 2

ª Q 10 9 8 7
_________________________

How many losers
in this trump suit?



ª 6 5 2
ª A J 4 ª K 3

ª Q 10 9 8 7
___________________

ª 6 5 2
ª A 4 ª K J 3

ª Q 10 9 8 7



ª 6 5 2
© 8 7 4
¨ A 6 5 4
§ A 6 4

Dummy

West East

Declarer

ª Q 10 9 8 7
© A K J
¨ K 2
§ K Q 2

How many Club losers?

How many Diamond losers?

How many Heart losers?

How many Spade losers?

How many total losers?

How do you play the hand?

Cont: 4ª Lead: ¨J



ª 6 5 2
© 8 7 4
¨ A 6 5 4
§ A 6 4

Dummy

West East

Declarer

ª Q 10 9 8 7
© A K J
¨ K 2
§ K Q 2

You want to finesse against the ªJ and also
against ©Q, and you have two Dummy entries
to make those finesses possible.
Here’s a sensible line of play:

Win Diamond lead in Dummy
Finesse the ª10

It will be your lucky day if the ª10
forces out West’s Ace! That would
mean that the ªJ is with East, and you
can take another Spade finesse, holding
your trump losses to just two.
Eventually, you will make 10 tricks,

losing just two trumps and a Heart.



Cont: 4ª
Lead:¨J

ª 6 5 2
© 8 7 4
¨ A 6 5 4
§ A 6 4

ª A 3
© 6 5 3 2
¨ J 10 9 3
§ 9 8 7

Dummy

West
East

Declarer

ª K J 4
© Q 10 9
¨ Q 8 7
§ J 10 5 3

ª Q 10 9 8 7
© A K J
¨ K 2
§ K Q 2

That was easy! All you
needed to make your game
was to take the trump
finesse twice.

The full hand might look
something like this:

But that’s not what 
happened!  West is a 
tricky fellow and has 
bamboozled Declarer 
with a brilliant false 
card.  Look at the real 
hand …



Cont: 4ª
Lead:¨J

ª 6 5 2
© 8 7 4
¨ A 6 5 4
§ A 6 4

ª A K J
© 6 5 3 2
¨ J 10 9
§ 9 8 7

Dummy

West
East

Declarer

ª 4 3
© Q 10 9
¨ Q 8 7 3
§ J 10 5 3

ª Q 10 9 8 7
© A K J
¨ K 2
§ K Q 2

You see what happened?
On the first Spade, West
squandered his Ace on
the first round of trumps.
This false card did not
cost anything, West
would still score his
three trump tricks.



So what did that false card achieve? It tricked
Declarer into using his last Dummy entry to re-take
the trump finesse. As this seemed to be a proven
finesse it was safer than the 50% Heart finesse. So
Declarer lost his three trump tricks and a Heart!

If West had won the first Spade with the Jack,
Declarer would know he had three trump losers,
and would use that last Dummy entry to take the
winning Heart finesse, thus bringing home his
contract. Sneaky play, Mr. West!



ª 5 2
© 9 8 3
¨ K Q 4
§ A Q J 6 2

Dummy
West East

Declarer

ª A J 7
© A K 6
¨ A J 7 3
§ 9 5 4

Next we’ll watch as Declarer gets
hoodwinked in a 3NT contract.

West leads the Spade Three, to East’s
Queen and Declarer’s Ace. Declarer can
count 8 top tricks, and if the Clubs oblige
there are 12 tricks no less.

There’s no reason not to take the Club 
finesse right away and, lo and behold, the 
King pops out of West’s hand on the first 
round!  That’s good news and bad news.



ª 5 2
© 9 8 3
¨ K Q 4
§ A Q J 6 2

Dummy
West East

Declarer

ª A J 7
© A K 6
¨ A J 7 3
§ 9 5 4

The good news is that Declarer now has
three Club tricks in the bank, and 10
altogether.

The bad news is that the Clubs don’t
run. Does that mean 10 tricks are the
limit? No! Declarer can let West win that
§K. Now the defense can score the §K
and ªK, but that’s all, and Declarer reels
in 11 tricks. Yes, clever play by Declarer,
except for one tiny insignificant detail …



Cont: 3NT
Lead:ª3

ª 5 2
© 9 8 3
¨ K Q 4
§ A Q J 6 2

ª K 10 8 3
© J 5 4
¨ 10 8 5 2
§ K 7

Dummy

West
East

Declarer

ª Q 9 6 4
© Q 10 7 2
¨ 9 6
§ 10 8 3

ª A J 7
© A K 6
¨ A J 7 3
§ 9 5 4

Declarer played it well enough,
but he was outwitted by West’s
brilliant false card in Clubs.

Was that false card dangerous in
any way? No. West saw Dummy
and asked himself the question
“How useful is my §K?” The
answer was “It is absolutely
useless!” The best thing to do
with useless cards is to throw
them away, which is exactly what
West did!
Thus, Declarer’s 12 easy tricks

became 11 embarrassing tricks.



Cont: 5§
Lead:ªQ

ª A 4 2
© 8 6 5
¨ 9 6 4 3
§ 10 3 2

ª Q J 7
© K Q J 8 7
¨ 8 7 5
§ 8 5

Dummy

West
East

Declarer

ª 10 9 8 5
© A 10 4 3 2
¨ K 2
§ K J

ª K 6 3
© --
¨ A Q J 10
§ A Q 9 7 6 4

Here’s another example of the
Useless King Syndrome:
Against 5§, West leads the ªQ won by 
Dummy’s Ace.
Now a Club finesse, then draw the 

second round of trumps, cross to 
Dummy’s §10, Diamond finesse, 
making 12 tricks!
But East can do better!  On the first 

round of trumps, look what happens if 
East pops up with the King!  Declarer 
will assume it is singleton, so West 
started with §J85.  Declarer attempts 
to cross to Dummy’s §10, but gets the 
shock of his life when it is East who 
has the missing Jack.  Down one 
because Dummy now has no entry for 
the Diamond finesse.



ª K 8 6
© K Q 6
¨ K Q J 10 6
§ 7 6

Dummy

West East

Declarer

ª 9 7 3 2
© 10 9 8 2
¨ A 8
§ 8 4 3

SouthWest North East
1© 2§ 2¨ Pass
2© Pass 4© All Pass

West starts by cashing 
the AK§.  East has a 
Diamond trick.  That’s 
three tricks, but we 
need one more if we are 
to beat 4©.  Where is 
that trick?



Cont: 4©
Lead: A§

ª K 8 6
© K Q 6
¨ K Q J 10 6
§ 7 6

ª Q J 10 5
© --
¨ 7 4 3 2
§ A K 10 9 5

Dummy

West
East

Declarer

ª 9 7 3 2
© 10 9 8 2
¨ A 8
§ 8 4 3

ª A 4
© A J 7 5 4 3
¨ 9 5
§ Q J 2

Beating this 4© contract looks like a 
hopeless proposition.  The winning 
play requires that you fool Partner 
and Declarer into thinking you have a 
Club doubleton.

Normally, after the §A opening lead, 
East would signal with the low Three, 
a discouraging card.  This suggests 
no doubleton.  But East must lie!  He 
plays the encouraging Eight, 
suggesting a doubleton.  West  
continues with the §K and a third 
Club.  Declarer will surely ruff high in 
Dummy and that promotes a trump 
trick for East.  Down one!



Points to Remember
In general:
- Defenders play the lowest card which will get the job done, all the better to

help Partner understand the layout.
- Declarer plays the highest card she can afford, all the better to conceal

information from the defenders.
A good rule of thumb for Declarer after opening lead:
- If you like the opening lead, and want West to continue the suit, play a

higher spot than is necessary
- If you don’t like the opening lead, and want West to shift, play your lowest

spot.
- If you have no particular opinion of the opening lead, play a random spot

card.
Warning: These suggestions are not infallible, handle with care!


