Full Screen Print Page Latest Enhancements Web Administration Help and Guide
Release 2.19f

Pages viewed in 2015

Recent Updates
Home Page
28th Jul 2015 10:57 BST
News Page
13th Jul 2015 18:50 BST
Butler Scores 2014/15
31st Mar 2015 16:02 BST
Fixtures 2015/16
9th Mar 2015 10:25 GMT
Website Data Centre Maintenance

PLEASE NOTE, the data centre hosting Bridgewebs will be closed for some essential maintenance and this means that www.bridgewebs.com  (and thus this website) will be UNAVAILABLE from 22:00 BST on Wednesday, 29th July, to 06:00 BST Thursday, 30th July.

Summer Sim Pairs - August 19th
Summer Sim Pairs - August 19th

So far Newcastle, Stafford, Tettenhall, Wolverhampton and Wrekin have entered this event.  Contact John Withers if your club plays on a Wednesday and would like to take part if you have not already done so.

Entries for League & Staffs Cup 2015-16

New teams are invited for the league, matches played on the 2nd Wednesday in the month at Wolverhampton, and the Staffs Cup knockout competition (click the links for the posters).  Both events start in September. For further details and to enter (no later than 14th August) please contact Judy Mitchell on 01743 235 374 or email mitchellmj@btinternet.com.  Teams playing in these events last year will automatically continue in this coming season’s competitions unless Judy is advised otherwise.

EBU Master Point Promotions
EBU Master Point Promotions

Congratulations to those SSCBA members promoted in June:

Master Mrs Mary Dingley
County Master Mrs Pat Martin, Mrs Irene Parker, Mr Stewart Rowe
District Master Sally Boardman, Mrs Adrienne Jones, Mr Harry Jones, Mrs Christine Raven, Beth Webb
Area Master Mrs Gwen Wright
Club Master Mr Mike Hallam, Mr Roy Miller, Mrs Joyce Smith, Mr Neville Sutcliffe
Local Master Mr Anthony Warren


Workshops - Opening Weak Twos
Thursday July 23rd: Weak Two's why they should be part of your system and how to bid and respond to them.
Thursday July 30th: How to Defend against weak 2 openers
Time: 9.30 - 12.30
Cost: £6
Where: Wolverhampton Bridge Club, Shaw Road Business Park, Wolverhampton, WV10 9LE
Booking: To book your place ring Linda on 01902 765027 or Email lcalice@btinternet.com
Everyone welcome from any club affiliated or not.
No Fear Pairs - 9th July
No Fear Pairs - 9th July

A No Fear Pairs event took place at Wolverhampton on Thursday 9th July.  The winners were Sean Clarke & Ann Sleightholme from Stafford, with Eileen Pinches & Joan Butler from Tettenhall second and Joan & Guy Kershaw from Newport third. Sean is a recent convert to bridge and Ann a new recruit to teaching! Yet again a lovely lunch laid on by Linda and her team.

Championship Pairs 2015 - Wolverhampton
Championship Pairs 2015 - Wolverhampton

Mixed/Flitch Championship Pairs - Wednesday 10th June 2015

The winners were Dan Crofts & Celia Day, with John & Anne Seymour second (Flitch Pair Winners) and last year's winners, James Vickers & Monica Scott, in third place.

Flitch Pair Winners

Ladies' and Men's Championship Pairs - Played on Thursday 14th May 2015

The ladies' pairs were won by Pam Booth-Jones & Sue Yardley, with Terry May and Kath Adams second just ahead of Celia Day & Alma Richards.  The Men's pairs were won by Robin Adey & Geoff Davies with Keith Shuttleworth & Brian Nicholls second and Nicholas Thorne & John Seymour third.

EBU Magazine

The new style EBU magazine, English Bridge, can be read on line if you do not receive a paper copy.  There is also an extra section for County news only available on-line.

AGM - 6th September

The AGM is to take place at 2 p.m. Sunday 6th September at Wolverhampton bridge club. Any proposals to be debated at the meeting should be sent in writing, signed and seconded  by August 16th, to Pat Poxon at 10 Edward Road, Perton, Wolverhampton, WV6 7NA.

Midlands Counties Bowl - 2015

Two teams represent each of the 6 counties, Derbyshire, Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, Staffs & Shrops, Warwickshire and Worcestershire in this competition.  The winners this year, played on June 21st, were Worcestershire but Staffs & Shrops teams did very well this year coming 2nd (Paul Hackett/Dan Crofts with Jason Hackett/Ed Levy) and 3rd (Robin Adey/Geoff Davies with John Day/Geoff Feltbower).  Congratulations all.

Welcome Wrekin Bridge Club
Welcome Wrekin Bridge Club

Staffs and Shrops welcomes Wrekin Bridge Club. The club became affiliated to the EBU in May 2015 and is celebrating its 60th year this year.   The club started from humble beginnings in 1955 with a group of friends meeting in a local pub, and making the boards out of cardboard.  One of the founder members, Nellie Simpson, started the club with her husband Bert, and is still playing at Wrekin in 2015.  The club members were asked to join with a bridge club run at Sankeys Social Club and this venue continued until Sankeys closed its social club.  Wrekin moved to several different venues until it settled at its present venue some 15 years ago.  Wrekin is a small, friendly club which welcomes new members.  It meets on Wednesday evenings at 7.15 pm at Shawbirch Community Centre.  Visitors are welcome, and partners found.

League and Staffs Cup

Congratulations to Geoff Davies’s team (Geoff, Robin Adey, John Day & Geoff Feltbower) for winning League division 1;  to Celia Day’s (Celia,  Pat Poxon, Sue Yardley, Gillian Allsop, Dave Clarke, Colin Draper, Kevin Seager & Linda Ralph) team for winning division 2;   and to the Hackett team for winning the Staffs cup. The Staffs Cup winners (P Hackett, J Hackett, B Hackett, D Crofts)  represented the County in the Pachabo Cup on 6th & 7th June 2015 coming 4th.


Welcome to Staffordshire and Shropshire Contract Bridge Association (S&SCBA). The area covered by the Association ranges from the Welsh border in the West to Burton on Trent in the East, Newcastle under Lyme in the North to Ludlow in the South. Our objectives are to promote duplicate bridge in the counties, to encourage inter-club, etc., competitions and to employ the funds in the best interests of the game.

The County has teams of eight entered in the Midland League (Dawes, Porter and Markham) and annually enters a team in the EBU Tollemache competition. The Midlands league covers Derbyshire, Gloucestershire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Warwickshire, Worcestershire in addition to ourselves. The County also participates in the Edgar Foster Cups and Midland Teams Challenge Bowl, events for the six counties of Derbyshire, Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, Warwickshire, Worcestershire and ourselves.

During the winter months teams of four league matches for County members are held on the second Wednesday of the month, and there is also a team of four knock-out competition.  Inter Club Sim Pairs are run regularly, and various pairs competition events are held annually.

County clubs affiliated to the EBU are Basford, Border, Chasetown, Eccleshall, Nantwich, Newcastle, Newport, Oswestry, Shrewsbury, Stafford, TettenhallWolverhampton and Wrekin.  Wolverhampton Bridge Club became the playing headquarters of S&SCBA in December 2013.

Contact Webmaster

Please email the webmaster with any news, comments and pictures to be included on the website.

19th August 2015
County Summer Simultaneous Pairs
6th September 2015
AGM & Phoenix Trophy
Wolverhampton 2 p.m.
13th September 2015
Dawes vs Warwick (home)
2 p.m.
20th September 2015
Edgar Forster Cups
24th September 2015
Dawes Training
Wolverhampton 7 p.m.
9th July 2015
Director: Wolverhampton Bridge Club
Scorer: john withers
10th June 2015
Mixed/Flitch Pairs
Director: James Vickers
Scorer: James Vickers
2nd June 2015
Interclub Sim Pairs June 2015
Director: Wolverhampton Bridge Club
Scorer: john withers
14th May 2015
Ladies' Pairs
Director: James Vickers
Scorer: James Vickers
This site is built with BridgeWebs, the easy web solution.