Reading Bridge Club

Minutes of the 72nd Annual General Meeting held on Thursday, 23 May 2019 at 6.30 p.m

The meeting was chaired by Pat Dowdeswell.

1. Apologies for Absence

Mike Perkins, Ann Brown, David and Janet Barnes, Joyce Baldock

2. Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting

The minutes of the 71st Annual General Meeting held on Thursday, 17 May, 2018, were taken as read and approved.

3. Matters arising

There were no matters arising from the minutes.

4. The Secretary's Annual Report

AGM of the READING BRIDGE CLUB

Secretary's Report for 2019

1. Numbers attending averages

Tuesday	4.5	Tables 2018	5.6 Tables 2017
Thursday	9	Tables 2018	9 Tables 2017

The low number of tables on Tuesdays is a cause for concern. We have recently introduced

a system whereby pairs who are playing book in on the website in advance. We hope this will encourage others to attend and means we can cancel if there are insufficient numbers booked in.

2. Successes in County Events

GP Swiss Teams – Pat Dowdeswell, Mike Ribbins, Mike Wenble & Jim Chapman finished 3rd

Denys Jenkins Swiss Pairs Ilan Sirkis & Partner finished 2nd

County Pairs Qualifier –Mike Ribbins & Pat Dowdeswell finished 2nd, Daid & Janet Barnes finished 3rd

County Pairs Final – Roger Donato & Peter Hawkes finished 1st

Carol Mueller Mixed Teams – David & Janet Barnes, Jonny Richards & Mike Ribbins finished 1st

Finchampstead Friendly Pairs - Rita Evans & Partner finished 2nd

Committee Cup – Jonny Richards, Peter Jackson, Peter Hawkes & Mike Perkins finished 3rd

League of 8

In Division 1 the A team, captained by Mike Perkins, finished $2^{\rm nd.}$ and the B team, captained by Peter Hawkes finished 6th .

In Division 2 the C team, captained by Sam Botfield, finished 7th.

League of 4

In Division 1 the team captained by Mike Perkins finished 2nd and the team captained by Bob Dowdeswell finished 6th. In Division 2 the team captained by David Barnes finished 6th.

Chiltern League

Reading A finished 5th and Reading B finished 8th.

3. **Club**

Annual Trophies 2017/18 Presidents Cup – Peter Jackson Francis Cup –Peter Jackson and Mike Perkins

Six Monthly trophies – Summer 2018 and Winter 2018/19 Brown Cup- Mike Ribbins Peter Jackson Laycock Cup – Keith Goswell David Barnes Bilbey Cup – David Salmon Roger Burkeman Boucher Cup – Nigel Cooper

4. Other Matters

I would like to thank the following who have all helped make the club a success: Jonny Richards for maintaining our websites All those who have dealt the boards and acted as captains and directors. John Greenhalgh

Secretary

23 May 2019

5. Presentation of the Annual Accounts

The Treasurer presented the Annual Accounts for the year ending 31 March 2019. They showed an excess of income over expenditure after corporation tax of \pounds 7,838 compared with \pounds 6,081 last year.

6. Election of Officers and Committee

President:	Pat Dowdeswell
Secretary:	John Greenhalgh
Treasurer:	Mel Thomas

The following Committee Members were also elected Sam Botfield, Christine Cook, Mike Ribbins, Martina Zwieflhofer and Simon Fixter.

The President thanked the outgoing members Jonny Richards and Joyce Baldock for their service on the Committee.

7. Appointment of Examiner of Accounts

John Chamberlain was appointed

8. Any other business

The decision not to seek alternative premises was discussed and generally supported.

Simon Fixter asked for volunteers to tidy up the garden.