Defensive Tips for

Intermediates
Part Il




In Part 1 we discussed the need to mental model declarer’s and
partner’s hands to defend to best effect.

Here is another example from last Friday’s play which
illustrates the rewards (apart from exercising the brain) of
trying to build a picture of those invisible hands.
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ol17 You are North and lead the Ja covered
x e by the Ka and partner wins the As,
Vul: All +AJ1083 )
& 11065 then plays the Qs, declarer playing
worm | L ios 10-A. Partner now plays a. small spade
23 vAI104 which declarer trumps with the 8%.
:1‘;’-}‘ You discard a small diamond. Declarer
[coun]ig draws two rounds of trumps ending in
dummy, partner following, and then

the K& from hand and the A& from
dummy.

e * €

Partner drops the Qe on the 2" round of clubs and declarer, who is busy
mental modelling the defensive hands, now knows you have the A ¢, since
partner has already shown up with 8 HCPs and cannot hold any other honour
card for her bid except the Q¢ orJe.

Declarer now leads the A¥ from dummy. Partner discards a spade.

What do you discard?



This is the position:

-

iscard?
Discard You now know that partner

-
[ Dir: 5“““‘} hd / cannot hold the K¢. You must
Vul: All +AJ108

& 110 discard another diamond or
- else, if you discard the 10+,
: : A3 declarer can throw you in with
" 23 + 049 the J& and you will be forced
& & 7 to cashthe A¢ orlead a

diamond around to her Ke.

If you retain both clubs, on winning the 10+, you can exit with the J&, forcing
declarer to trump in dummy and fall back on the A ¢ being in partner’s hand,
where it clearly is not! Declarer will only make 8 tricks and will go one down.



§ Here is the full set of

& J7 hands:
Dir: South vi6
Vul: All ¢ AJ1083
& J1065 Board No 23 Both Vul Dealer South
Deal: Fri131017
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= & Q4 ﬁ 2] 0 1 3¢ W& 9 140 4 12

Note that in 5/7 cases declarer made 9 or more tricks.



In Part 1, we also discussed the value of signals to aid communication between
the two defenders. These signals could be to give count, encouragement or
discouragement to partner’s lead or suit preference (McKenney). As part of a
recap, let’s look at this further example involving signalling.
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Bidding:

E S W N

Pass Pass 2C* 2H

2NT  Pass 4S All Pass.
(* =4 or less losers or 23+HCP)

Partner leads K¥, declarer plays low
from dummy.

You are playing low to encourage or,
occasionally, McKenney signals (in
limited situations such as cash-up or
suit preference when a ruff is
possible).

What card do you play?



Declarer’s 2C opening bid indicates that she has 9 tricks in
hand.

The Q65 of spades in the dummy probably ensures an extra
trick as well as an entry. Therefore, you must discourage
partner from trying to cash the A¥ because it will set up the
Qv in dummy as another trick which might not even have
been possible if partner has 6 x hearts and declarer only one.

You play the 8% to discourage a heart continuation.

Partner may read this either as discouraging hearts or a suit
preference signal for a diamond.

As long as partner switches your A& should make a trick at
some stage.



Here is the full deal. The defence can hold declarer to 10 tricks as long as
the Q¥ is not set-up initially by partner playing a second round of hearts
and then not switching to a club. In reality, with the Q& in dummy and
the A« likely to be in declarer’s hand, partner is very unlikely to lead a
club away from his K.
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P
Sl'flf 531 MV You will note that if
& K753 partner switches to a
L | R diamond, declarer
E
14 |3| Y &2 can not unblock the
s| #97632 , ,
-T &Q9 diamond suit and get
p . | tothe fifth diamond
- 4972  AevealNll indummy without
e il DAL NNEDEE you being able to ruff.
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Board No 14 None Vul Dealer East

NS EW Bid By Ld Tks S¢  + -
W WA 11 450 4 10

1 6 A4da

2 J& e TWiwa T 11 ] | 4500 4 10
4 3 48 W WA 11 450 4 10
5 5 44 W wK 10 420 12 2
5 7 44 W WA 1 450 4 10
7 9 4 W wK 10 420 12 2
8 2 48 W WA 11 450 4 10
9 4 44 W WA 10 420 12 )

In the actual play, 4S was bid on every single
occasion and the Av or K¥ led on every single
occasion. However, declarer made 11 tricks rather
than 10 tricks on 5/8 occasions.



These include, among others:

»hold ups

»preserving communications

»directional bidding during the auction

»forcing defences

»defender in second-hand playing high

»sacrificing honour cards (normally Kings) to destroy communications
»uppercuts and trump promotions

»false carding

The Rule of 11 discussed under NT leads previously can also be used to
decide what card to play when partner leads a fourth highest card.



& ABTH
Dir: North w9573
Vul: ENW + KQJ2
& 54
e KQJ93
L
#1064 25
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& 3753

11062 | sourn |

You lead your 7&, partner
plays the 44 and declarer
wins with K&. Declarer
now leads the 104,

This board was discussed
under giving count but as
far as North is concerned
she needs to hold up on
taking the Aa until she is
sure that declarer (East)
cannot get to dummy.

North should hold up winning the Aa until the second round and hold declarer
to nine tricks by then switching to the K¢ . Incidentally, how should declarer have
played the hand to make 10 tricks on a club lead even with a hold up of the AN ?



Sometimes, primarily in NT contracts, there is a need for the
defence to preserve communications.
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Bidding:
South West North East

1D Pass 1H Pass
INT Pass 3NT
Lead: 6 A

Declarer plays 84, your partner
wins A&, declarer playing 2s.
Partner returns 5sa, declarer
playing 9s.

How do you continue?



Partner is likely to hold at least 3 x spades since declarer did not
rebid 1S. If partner has 4 x spades he should win A& and return
a low spade which you can win with your Ka which MIGHT clear
the oppositions' spades. However, it is unlikely declarer would
have bid 1INT with a small doubleton spade and at least 8 cards
in the minor suits.

Partner's return of the 54 is another indication that both he
and declarer have three spades each because the 34 is missing
from play and if you win the return with the Ks, declarer can
win the third round with the J& and you will not win any more
tricks in spades since you have no entries.

A much more likely effective defence on your part is to play an
encouraging signal of 10 when the 54 is returned allowing
dummy's Qa to win and preserve an entry to your hand when
partner next gets in.



& (8
Dir- South YAKQG Board No 27 None Vul Dealer South
Vul: None # 654
& AGH2 : -
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Partner gets in with the A ¢ before declarer can make nine tricks and
returns the 34 for you to win another three spade tricks. Note that
3NT was played on 5 occasions and made on every occasion that a
spade was led. West did not hold off winning the Ka to preserve
communications.



Forcing defences arise when you have a long suit or a suit fit with
partner as well as (usually) at least four trumps in the opponents’ suit.
By continuing to play your own suit when you get in you will reduce
declarer’s trump length and, hopefully, gain trump control.
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Bidding:

W N E S

Pass 1D Dbl 3D(weak)
3H Passed out.

Lead: K¢, followed by
diamond continuation
which South won with
A ¢, declarer discards a
spade. South continued
with a spade.



This is an example of a forcing play.

Declarer only has 4 x hearts and cannot afford to trump the

second diamond round in hand or else he will be reduced to
the same or less number of hearts as one of the defenders,

since no side suit is established.

Declarer threw a spade so that the shorter trump hand in
dummy could take the force if diamonds were continued.

This helped to minimise the number of tricks down on the
hand.



The following hand was an attempt by West to cut North’s access to the long
diamond suit in dummy. It was a comedy of errors as real play often is, but

demonstrates the point.
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Bidding:

N E S W
1D Pass 1H 1S
4H! Passed out

Lead: Aa followed by Ka in an effort to reduce
trump length and potential entries to dummy’s
diamonds.

Declarer ruffed, played K¥ and finessed to
West's QW.

Playing East for the A¢, West now led Ke to
take out what might be the remaining entry to
dummy. Declarer won and unfortunately for
him assumed East had the J& and finessed the
10¢. Down one.



North You may remember the hand

A in 2S by West that we
:38 discussed at the very
2K87 beginning where North
West East playipg second—ha.nd Was
al52 A required to play high. These
v743 v K982 were the cards remaining in
¢ *8 the end-game.
%5 %QJ ,
s You have taken out dummy’s
outh
R A4 entry and declarer now
vAJ10 leads the J& to set the Qe
*4 up as her eighth trick if she
%962

can get to it.

Partner wins and plays the Q¢ in case declarer has a rag remaining
but declarer ruffs and leads a heart towards table. North must play
the Q¥ or else South (you) is end-played and forced either to
concede a trick to the Q& or the K.



Normally, the defender playing second-hand plays low but
there are exceptions such as this and, of course, when declarer
leads a higher card as part of a finesse.

For example:

You

K95
Declarer Dummy
Leads ) AQ6

Do you play the K or do you duck?

The guideline for defenders on whether to cover in a finesse
situation like this is cover when there is a chance you will
promote a trick from a lower card in your hand or your
partner’s hand.

»|n this case you would normally cover unless the biddin%
indicates that declarer has nine or more cards between her
hand and dummy. If so, no point in covering because you
have nothing to promote!



»When your honour card has plenty of rags to support it,
it is seldom right to cover. In the following example,
your K cannot be caught and it is unlikely you would be
promoting a trick in your partner’s hand and you would
be sacrificing a likely trick of your own.

You

K953
Declarer Dummy
Leads Q A108




> This situation is more difficult.

You have no idea how many cards declarer has in the
suit, nor who has the Q. However you have the 9 which
is in jeopardy. If you play the K, declarer may place you
for the Q as well (that is you have split your honours) if
she does not have it and mis-guess next time.

You

K95
Declarer Dummy
Leads 10 AJ82




»There is another finessing situation where you have
the K and know that declarer has the Q and J when
taking a finesse.

For example,
Declarer Dummy

QJ3

You

K74

Declarer leads the Q. You should cover in case you can
promote your partner’s 10 BUT do not cover the Q,
cover the J if that is led. Why?



Declarer may have the following and if Q, K and A are gone
can still finesse your partner for the 10.

Declarer Dummy
A98 -> 98 QJ3->J3

You

K74 -> 74
The exception to this rule is when you have K doubleton
only.

Hence, there are some situations where declarer is
finessing when it is better to play high second-hand and
others where it isn’t. Try to think about what you are going
to do before the finesse is attempted so you can play
smoothly without pausing.

Sometimes second-hand plays high to disrupt
communications.




+ Q10
& 10853

Yul: None

[ DIr: West} : EQE:JET 6 This was a hand played

recently at NBC where East
was in 3NT after West

* e, opened 3D. South led a
¢AIBT6E42 spade and the J& won but
&7 now there was no entry in
dummy outside the diamond
5 suit. East played a club to
a2 16

hand and led the 5¢. West
played the Ke .

11

i

Now East was in a quandary whether South had KQ and a rag diamond
and had split her honours or something else. East did make 11 tricks
but what should be East’s logic in determining the right line?



South’s play of the K¢, knowing that East had no other entry to
dummy was right on and an excellent effort to disrupt declarer’s
communications with dummy.

If South had had KQ and another diamond she should duck.

Declarer can then make A ¢ and J ¢ but that’s it. Declarer’s only
hope in running the diamond suit is that diamonds break 2-2 and
his only hope is to duck the first diamond round irrespective of
what card South plays.

There is actually no other distribution that the defenders might
have that enables declarer to access the long diamond suit in
dummy.



The defender on the right of declarer is sometimes able to promote an extra trump
trick for their partner. One such mechanism is called an “uppercut”.

West
AAJ97
v 10853
¢ K753
*Q

North

A 6542
va
+QJ1042
&AJ9

South
A10
vAKQ976
498
K863

East
AKQS83
vJ2

¢ A6
107542

E/W Vul ; S Dealer

Bidding:

S W N E
1H Pass 1S Pass
2H Passed Out

Lead: 3¢



West leads a diamond to East’s A¢ and East returns a diamond to West's K.

Realising that her partner would not be setting up 3 x diamond tricks in dummy
without reason, West returns a diamond in the hope that East can trump it.

What does East play on the third round of diamonds?

If East trumps low, then South overtrumps with the 6% and draws trumps for
the loss of 1 x trump trick. Declarer will only lose 1 x spade, 1 x heart and 2 x
diamonds making nine tricks.

East should trump with the J¥ and if declarer overtrumps, West will now make 2
x trump tricks. Trumping high like this albeit with a shortage of trumps, in the
hope of promoting trump tricks for partner is called an “uppercut”.

Trump promotions don’t work if declarer has idle cards to discard and on this
occasion declarer should discard the 104 loser on the J®, exchanging an extra
trump loser for a spade loser.

The correct defence is for East to try the Ka after winning the A ¢ . If partner
peters (starts a high-low signal) then East can expect that her partner has 4 x
spades (not two) and can then return a diamond. Now when the third diamond
is played and East uppercuts with the J®, South has no idle card to throw away
and will be held to eight tricks.

This need to remove any idle cards from declarer before initiating the trump
promotion is a general requirement for defensive trump promotions.



Another type of defensive trump promotion is as follows:

North

41642 E/W Vul ; E Dealer

v432

¢1042 Bidding:

&AJ9 E S W N
East Pass 1H Pass 1S
AAQS83 2D  3H, Passed Out
v)
+QJ9653 Lead: 54
87

East wins the Aa, declarer dropping 104 and switches to Q ¢,
declarer covers, West wins A ¢ and returns a diamond, declarer
plays low in dummy, East winning with 9 ¢ and declarer
dropping the 8 ¢.

What should East lead?



North South is marked with only 1 x

AJ642 spade based on West’s 54
v432 lead. It looks like declarer has
¢1042 6 x hearts (as indicated by the
*AJ9 bidding), 2 x diamonds and
West East therefore.4kx clubs a.II I(|)f which
AK975 AAQS3 may be.trlc s, especially based
v 1085 v) on the jump bid. Hence
*A7 ¢ QJ9653 declarer has no more idle
10542 287 cards (losers) to jettison and

the only hope for a further
trick for the defence is via a
trump promotion.

South

Aal10

v AKQ976 East should lead the J ¢. Declarer has no option but
*K8 to ruff. If declarer ruffs high then the 10¥ is

% KQ63

promoted in West’s hand. If declarer ruffs low West
can over-ruff. Instead of making 10 tricks declarer
makes only 9.



To me, false carding should be reserved only for occasions when
it will make no difference to partner if she is misled since the
defence is always at some disadvantage to declarer who can see
her combined holding in its entirety and, therefore, the defence
needs to deploy plays and signals that keep useful dialogue going
as much as possible.

For example, if partner leads a suit for which you have touching
honours, play the lower one to help indicate that you have a
higher touching one, since playing the higher honour denies the
lower one and misleads (false cards) partner.

False carding such as leading a fifth or sixth highest card from a
suit or leading the lower of touching honours rather than the
higher can be done with impunity if partner is known to have
nothing of value, that is, you have all or nearly all the outstanding
points in the hand. This is an opportunity to try to fool declarer.

And to finish with a rare directional bid....



This is a defensive tool that seldom is used. However, it is relevant to the
hand below played at NBC on Friday, July 21.

The Lightner Double is a double that comes “out-of-the-blue” from the
defender who is not on lead when a slam has been bid. It asks for an unusual
lead, normally the first side suit bid by dummy.

Picture yourself holding this bunch of cobblers
where the bidding goes:

I Exst Pass, 1S, Pass, 2D, Pass, 3NT, Pass, 4C (Gerber),
Vil Al Pass, 4S, Pass, 6S, wake up! Your bid?

You decide to gamble on the fact that your
partner has the A# or a quick entry in trumps

e and can give you a diamond ruff. Supported by
v1076352 . .

40 your impressive 1HCP, you double! Partner
8987 dutifully leads a diamond and then a second

one when she gets in with the Aa. You ruff and
— a seemingly rock solid contract goes down. Such
are the vagaries of bridge.



Here is the full set of hands. You will not be surprised that 6/7 declarers actually
made 12 tricks in their spade contract. The declarer who made 11 tricks had a
diamond lead but was only in 4S. No contracts were doubled. West of Pair 2 came
closest to beating the contract by leading J ¢, a natural lead from a broken sequence
(if diamonds were not mentioned by North), but when West won the As,
unfortunately, a diamond was not continued.

[

s KJ9 Board No 10 Both Vul Dealer East
:iﬁ{uﬁd Deal: Friday21Aug2017
i .
& K103 N5 EW Bid By Ld Ths +5¢c -Sc
1 6 FG& S &A 12 1430 10 2
aAB BN , ;. 2 1 4a S &5 12 680 48
MY 10 |3 72°7%%2 ks 3 6e s a2 12 1430 10 2
& Q542 -T & J987 4 5 44 S w5 12 630 4 B
§ 5 7 de 5 46 11 650 12
. Q10652 saevenN | M6 2 6e [Sles [12] 1430 |10 2
_ v AKQ N2/5/2(516 | 07 4 44 S &6 12 680 4
. 1 s 732 2 2|52 (| 56
& ABG - -
W -
L "




Enjoy your defence. After all,
you will be doing it twice as
often as being declarer, and it is
better than being dummy, isn't
it? Happy Bridging.




