Think and Play

Session 3
Declarer Gadgets




Declarer Hold-ups at 3NT:

Declarer holds only the A as a stopper in the suit led.
The Rule of Seven states: Subtract the number of cards in
both hands from 7 and hold up that many times.....or...

(1) If you hold 7 cards and 6 cards are outstanding you don’t
(need to) hold up.

(2) If you hold 6 cards and 7 cards are outstanding you hold up
once (unless you have Ax opposite 10xxx)

(3) If you hold 5 cards and 8 cards are outstanding hold up twice.

NB: You should not hold up at all if you happen to have
another suit wide open and the defence may switch.



Declarer Hold-ups at 3NT:

The reasoning behind these hold-up plays is based on
trying to prevent either of the opponents with five or
more in the suit being able to regain the lead to run
their four setting tricks.

By holding up your hope is that the defender who
gains the lead has no more cards in the suit to lead to
her partner. If she does, the suit won’t beat your
contract.



With the specific Ax opposite 10xxx holding, by going up with the A
on the first round, you stand a good chance of blocking the
opponents’ suits, because their honours will become confounded.

AX
e.g. KJIXXX Qx
10xxXx

West leads the fourth highest in this suit. If declarer ducks then East wins
with the Q and plays the same suit back to the Ace. As soon as West gets in
her K and J will draw the two remaining cards in declarer’s hand. Declarer
achieves only one stop in the suit by ducking.

West leads the fourth highest in this suit. Declarer wins with the Ace. If East
ducks then when the defence gets in again the Q blocks the suit. If East
plays it, West cannot overtake without making declarer’s 10 a second stop
and West is in a similar predicament. East should drop the Q under the A
but to prevent declarer achieving a second stop with the 10, East must now
be the next to lead the suit and West will need to hold the 9.
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(Note: As it happens, in
this case, ducking once
would do the job because
South has six diamonds
but that is irrelevant, if
one is weighing up
making an overtrick
versus going down in a
game contract)

E isin 3NT with KD led. She must let one of the opponents in with
the AH to make her contract and must hope it is North, the non-
dangerous opponent. With 8 cards outstanding, E should duck
twice to ensure that if North has the AH, she no longer has a
diamond left to return to her partner. If N does have the AH, E
can later take the club finesse through the South hand knowing
that her contract is assured.
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East is in 3NT and gets the KD led. Plan the play. \{J
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You have 5 in your combined holding so you should duck twice. On this hand
you can avoid allowing the opponent in, who could have 5 x diamonds, by
finessing through her hand. Take the club finesse first expecting to lose the first
trick to North. If South had 5 x diamonds to start with North can not play a
diamond. If North has a diamond, it is probable that they break 4-4. Assume
North now leads a spade. Win that in hand and take the heart finesse through
South. North wins and drives out your second spade stop but you now have
enough hearts and clubs with the help of a second finesse, if necessary, to
make your contract.



Declarer Hold-ups at 3NT:

If you have only one stop in the suit led but must let the
opposition in twice, with seven cards outstanding you now have
to hold up twice because even if one defender has four in the suit
and she can score 3 tricks, that will take you down .
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South isin 3NT with the
JC led. East covers the J
with her Q.(unblocking).

Plan your play. /% .\
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You have 9 tricks via 2 x spades, 4 x hearts, 2 x diamonds and 1 x
club (with an extra chance of a spade finesse or the diamonds
breaking 3-3) but you will have to let the opposition in with the
AD and probably a heart. You take the third round of clubs and
finesse the QH. East wins and returns a spade and you play the
AS. You can now run four heart tricks but will have to hope East
also has the AD to make your contract.



Declarer Hold-ups at 3NT:

If you have a double stop in the suit led but must let the
opponents in twice, you should duck the first round with
eight cards outstanding. In the play you should then let
the dangerous opponent in first so that when the non-
dangerous opponent gets in later, she will have no more
cards in that suit to play.
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If South takes the first spade round, and attacks the heart suit by
taking the double finesse , East (the non-dangerous opponent) will
win and lead a spade to West to drive out your last spade stop.
You can no longer attack diamonds without jeopardising your
contract. However, if South ducks once, takes the second spade
round and plays on diamonds (the only hope for West to get in)
West can drive out your last stop but you win and finesse hearts.
East has no more spades and you will make at least 9 tricks.



