
Mel’s Rule of 9

How You Can Play Like An Expert 
(without having to be one) 

By Mel Colchamiro



Your left hand opponent open 1♥ and partner 
makes a takeout double. 

Right hand opponent passes.                 

You hold: ♠8 4 2 
♥9 6 5 3 
♦K J 42 
♣7 6

Your  NICE 
thought… 

Great what 
do I now!

One thing we all have been taught at one point in 
time is that when partner makes a takeout double 
and RHO passes, we must bid something.  We can 
not pass – ever! 

                                      WRONG! 
  



Under the right circumstance, the partner of the 
takeout doubler can pass--- but only if he/she has 
sufficient length and strength in the opponent’s suit 
that he/she thinks the contract can be set. 

Mel’s Rule of 9 is a simple guideline to go by in 
making that decision.

            # cards in the opponent’s suit 
plus      # honor cards in opponents' long suit 
                ( including the 10) 
plus       level of contract 
_____________________________________________ 
If 9 or more  PASS 
If 8 or less  BID SOMETHING



This rule is not used to make a unilateral penalty double! 
For example:  1♣     P        1♠         P 
                      4♠     P         P          ? 
If you double here, please do not use Mel’s rule of 9 to 
make a penalty double.

♠J 8 5 3 
♥6 2 
♦8 4 
♣J 9 7 3 2

Bidding: 
W              Partner                East          You 
P                   1♥                     1♠             P 
2♠                  X                       P              ?

YOU♠6 
♥K Q J 5 2 
♦A K 9 3 
♣K Q 8

Partner’s Hand



This example comes from The Bridge World ( January, 2006).  Thirty 
experts were asked what they would do at matchpoints with both sides 
vulnerable:

♠10 6 
♥A 10 4 3 
♦9 7 6 4 2 
♣3 2

YOUBidding: 
W           Partner         East          You 
                  1♠              2♥             P 
 P                X                P              ? 

Mel’s Rule of 9 says to   ?????

Only 2 of the 30 passed, most bid 2♠!

4 hearts plus 2 honors at the 2 level =  8



Janet 
♠K 9 5 3 
♥7 
♦A Q 9 7 
♣K J 8 4Mignocchi 

♠Q J 10 6 
♥Q 5 
♦10 5 4 3 
♣Q 10 5

Bathurst 
♠A 8 4 
♥A 10 9 4 3 
♦K 6 2 
♣A 3Mel 

♠7 2 
♥K J 8 6 2 
♦J 8 
♣9 7 6 2

Bidding: 
Mignocchi     Janet        Bathurst      Mel 
                      1♦                1♥           P 
       P              X                  P            ?

Mel Rule of 9 ?
5 hearts plus 2 honors 
at the one level= 8 
BID!



What About Points???
If you satisfy Mel’s rule of 9 there are 3 basic situations: 
1. Besides being strong in their trump suit, you have solid outside 

points.  The opps are in BIG trouble. 
2. Your hand is weak, not counting your strength in their trump suit, 

but it turns out partner has lots of points for the takeout double.  
You’ll be OK.  

3. Your hand is weak, not counting your strength in their trump suit, 
but partner is relatively weak and may have stretched to make 
the takeout double.   

In this situation, you may be in trouble no matter what you do!  If 
you pass, they might well make their doubled contract.  But if 
you bid, they may double you and you may be the one going 
down a million.  As they say, S—t happens!  Sometimes, it is 
best to just pass and  they might go down!



Exceptions to the Rule of 9

There are 4 exceptions to Mel’s Rule of 9 
We will cover those next week.



Four Exceptions to Mel’s Rule of 9

The first exception we covered earlier but 
because it is imperative you  remember this 
we are going over it again. 

The rule of 9 is not used to make unilateral 
penalty doubles. 

For example: 
1♥ – 2♥ 
4 ♥  by the opponents.  You X because you have 

the rule of 9.  That is NOT what Mel’s rule of 9 
is intended. 



Exception #2
It’s when you have 2 card and 2 honor in the opponent’s suit or 

when you have 3 cards and 3 honor in their suit. 
These are dangerous holdings. 
A) KQ and KJ and QJ 
B) QJ10 and KQJ 
Your defensive prospects are overvalued, treat them as if they were: 
1) One honor and two cards 
2) Two honors and 3 cards ♠64 

♥QJ10 
♦854 
♣K8763

        Bidding: 
        West         Partner       East        You 
          3♥               X              P            ? 

Mel’s normal rule of 9 would tell you to pass.  (cards + 3 honors 
+ the 3 level = 9.)  However, use the exception and make the 3 
cards count for only 2 cards and your total =8.  BID  4♣.

YOU



Exception #3

 If you calculate Mel’s rule of 9 and come up one 
short (8), it is sometimes ok to pass if you 
have at least 2 unexpected outside tricks.

Bidding: 
 West          Partner          East         YOU! 
                      1♥               2♦            P 
    P                 X                 P             ?

YOU 
♠AK 
♥5 
♦9 8 7 6 4 2 
♣9 8 6 3

Mel’s rule of 9?     6 diamonds + 0 no honors + 2 level = 8 

Go ahead an pass because you are only 1 short and have 2 
surprise sure tricks.



Exception #4
The final exception occurs when the opponents open in a 

game bid of 4♥ or higher. At this time,  it is very often 
right to pass partner’s double even if you don’t come to 
satisfying the Mel’s Rule of 9.

♠8 4 3 
♥5 3 2 
♦A 7 4 2 
♣7 6 3

LHO open 4♥ or 4♠ and partner makes a 
takeout double, you should pass even 
though your Rule of 9 count is only seven.  
The higher the level of the opponents 
contract, the less important it is for you 
to be loaded in their suit for a pass.  To 
bid 5♦ in the above situation, you should 
have solid prospects of making your 
contract.  You best chance for a plus 
score is to take 4 tricks on defense.  
Being able to take 11 tricks in a diamond 
contract is really a very long shot.

♠7 
♥8 6 4 
♦A Q 7 6 4 2 
♣K 6 3 
Same count (7) 
but you have 
good chance to  
make 5♦.  BID!



Final Thought!
The odds at IMPs! 

When the Rule of 9 decisions are close, it is always safer to pass partner’s 
takeout double when the double does not “put” the opponents in game.  
That is why it is okay “ to go for it” when thinking about letting them 
play: 

1NT X 
2♣ X 
2♦ X 

But if the contract is: 
2♥ or 2♠ X    
2NT X 
3♣ , 3♦, 3♥ or 3♠ X 
4♣ or 4♦ X 

you are at great risk!  In this scenario even MPs, you only want to remove 
partner’s double of a game bid if you have good prospects of making 
your contract.  Otherwise, take your chances on defense.


