Lancashire Contract Bridge Association
Recent Updates
Home Page
22nd Jul 2018 11:51 BST
Matches 2018
19th Jul 2018 09:29 BST
7th Jul 2018 10:49 BST
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2018


Sunday August 5th 2018 at 11am

Preston Bridge Club Open Pairs

EBU BP Event,  £25 per pair, Bring your own lunch.

Entries to Catherine Draper Email:

Entry form at Preston BC Open Pairs 5Aug18.pdf




Lancashire has a bridge club in most of its major towns. Several clubs have a host system to ensure you can get a game. Contact details and club times are on the Clubs page though its sensible to check before attending a new club. Clubs with beginners and intermediate classes are also listed on the Clubs page. The website has details of forthcoming competitions and results. If your club is not affiliated you may become a direct member of the EBU. This entitles you to play in all Lancashire competitions, be eligible for Lancashire Teams, and attend all Lancashire Council Meetings

We welcome your comments about these pages - Enjoy your visit!


Pls contact the WebMaster for any omissions, corrections for the site.

County Matches
Selection of Lancashire Teams

1.All players must be members of the EBU with first allegiance to Lancashire.
2.Teams to represent LCBA are selected annually for the Tollemache Cup, the President's Cup, and for matches in the Northern Bridge League and against Cumbria.
3 Teams will be picked by a Selection Committee, which will be elected at the December Council meeting.
4 Criteria employed in the selection of teams include established reputation; involvement and performance in national, LCBA and other regional events; and a desire to give a variety of deserving pairs the opportunity to represent the County. The Selection Committee maintains a database of pairs who have expressed an interest in representing the County. If you think you are not on the database and wish to be considered please contact the Chairman of Selectors.
5 A further requirement (laid down by Council) is that to qualify for Lancashire representative matches, players are normally to have demonstrated support for LCBA events over the recent 12-18 months.
6 Selection of the team to represent Lancashire in the Tollemache Cup will take particular account of the performance of pairs during the year in the Northern Bridge League A Division matches and in the President's Cup.

Last updated : 20th May 2017 13:55 BST
Selection Pool

A Division

B Alston                C Mitchell
A Barnes                S Norris / D King
R Bentley               P Hepworth
J Brearley              R Shine
M Farr                  J Morrell
D Fazackerley           D Hilton
D King                  M Nicholson / T Wilkinson
J Pye                   J Smith
A Petrie                B Alston / J Smith   
D Williams              C Croswell / B Winter
N Woodcock              S Woodcock            

B Division

B Carr                  S Clarke
S Challinor             T Wilkinson
D Costich               A Lum
B Dormand               A Kirby
P Evans                 A Whittam
D Hammond               P Worswick
B Ripley                B Newall
B Loveridge             N Sutcliffe
L Smith                 M Tomlinson
J Wilkins               A Wilkins


C Division

B Apfel                 L Hoy
Duncan Ault             Diane Ault
R Atkinson              P Holden
J Ashworth              C Ashworth
Judy Brearley           D Pendlebury/P Holden/H Dent
B Brelsford             J Wright
A Burgess               J Dearing
A Butler                B Wattleworth
A Crabtree              D Spencer
C Henderson             B Henderson
Malcolm Fyne            Madeleine Fyne
B Mercer                J Warner
B Newall                J Newall
B Perry                 L Wilson
A Petrie                V Petrie
W Sutherland            S Whittam
B Winter                H Winter

Last updated : 17th Apr 2018 08:46 BST