Spade Heart  Diamond Club
Hants & IOW CBA
County Competitions
Previous Trophy Winners and 2017-2018 Progress


Previous Winners

2017-2018 Progress

League 1

Team Birdsall

Honours Board

Team Preston are off to a flying start and Team Birdsall already look unlikely to retain the trophy for a 3rd year.

League 2

Team Lamont

Honours Board

Team Brown have the largest win in the first round of matches.

Cahalan Cup

Team Preston

Honours board

Early days

Solent Trophy


Honours Board

No matches played as yet

Basingstoke Cup


Ist round victories for Newbury & Titchfield


Basingstoke C

Honours Board

Ist Round victories for Winchester, Petersfield B, Charter & Basingstoke B

Derek Gibbins Trophy

Steve Preston (Picture from previous year)

Honours board

Richard & Christine Ray ahead after three of the 11 qualifying events

Current Position

Pottage Cup

Ed Ahern & Ian Giles

Qualifying heats have started - Pottage Cup

Candlestick Swiss Pairs

Tony Truluck & lilias Lamont

Candlestick Swiss Pairs Competition Entry

Mens Pairs

Chris Stevens & Alastair Cowley


Ladies Pairs

Diana Syms & Ursula Henzal  (pictured with mens pairs)


Simmons/Lincoln Mixed/Married Pairs

Mixed and Married Pairs: Christine Ray & Richard Ray. Top mixed pair not married to each other were John Moore & Pauline Serby (2nd overall).

Married Pairs : Christine & Richard Ray retain the trophy.
Mixed Pairs: Connie Pearce and Alan Mansell

Championship Pairs at AGM Pairs (Graham Cup ) winners:  
Miles Cowling & Bob McRobert
Intermediate Pairs  (Mark Carr Trophy) winners:
John Foster and David Barratt
Junior Pairs (Philbrick Trophy) winners:
David and Christine Pine

Honours Board


Handicapped Pairs


Simple System Pairs Andrews and Jackie Woods
Note: The scoring shows the event as being won by Fred Hotchen and Jeremy Baker, but they were there to make up the numbers in a heat and not standing for the trophy.

 Penny Blake and Margaret Major

No Fear Pairs

Betty Elkins and Phil Munday

HIWCBA Sim Pairs Competition Entry

Chidwick Cup

Ray Crawford and John Fairhurst

HIWCBA Sim Pairs Competition Entry


Roger Johnson & John Wilson (Titchfield)

HIWCBA Sim Pairs Competition Entry

Catherine Howell Trophy

(best all HIWCBA team at annual HIWCBA Green Point Teamd Event)

No winner - HIWCBA Green Point Event Cancelled

Honours Board

HIWCBA Green Point Weekend

Wessex Swiss Teams

John Sherringham, Steve Preston, Fred Hotchen,Andy Hughes

Wessex/Bloxsom Swiss Teams Competition Entry

Beryl Bloxom Trophy Teams of 4

Owen Leigh, Jeremy Baker, James Clark, Richard Hyde

Honours Board

Wessex/Bloxsom Swiss Teams Competition Entry

Philip Graham Swiss Teams

Jeremy Dhondy, Andy Hughes, Steve Preston & Dave Huggett


Valentine Swiss Teams Preston & Andy Hughes, Richard & Christine Ray

Valentine Teams Competition Entry

Midwinter Swiss Teams

Tim Smith & Dave Willis,
Lesley Lewis & Tim Dunsby

Mid Winter Teams Competition Entry

Yuletide Swiss Teams

Tony Truluck & Stuart Burnett,
Owen Leigh & Mike Kinsey
Honours Board

YuleTide Mini Swiss Teams Competition Entry

Candover Swiss Teams

Miles Cowling & Steve Preston, Jeremy Dhondy & Andy Hughes

Honours Board

Jeremy Dhondy &  Andy Hughes, Richard Ray & Christine Ray

Jubilee teams of 8

Richard Assad & Jenny Ashby, David Willis & Tim Smith, Owen Leigh & Steve Preston, Tony Truluck & Stuart Burnett.

Honours Board

Jubilee Team of Eight Competition Entry