MINUTES OF THE 12/9/23 HBC ANNUAL MEETING

CALL TO ORDER – The meeting was called to order by President Midge Sobolewski at 11:01 AM on Saturday, December 9, 2023. A quorum of members was present.

All rose for a moment of silence to honor those members and friends who had passed away this year: Mel Brownold, Joe Eskin, Herb Gaither, Darl Horn, and Connie Schlak.

APPROVAL OF DECEMBER 10, 2022 ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES – These minutes were emailed to all members after the 2022 Annual Meeting and have been posted at the Club since then. Cindy Mueller made a motion to approve these minutes and this was seconded by Ray Rizzo. The motion carried, with no opposition or abstentions.

TREASURER'S REPORT– MaryRose Noto-Hardy reviewed the November 2023 report that showed total income of \$8,475.95, which included F2F games revenue of \$6,093 and virtual games revenue of \$329.66. Total expenses came to \$7,281.91, bringing the net ordinary income for the month to \$1,194.04.

As of November 30th, the Club had a bank account balance of \$15,033.16. The Money Market account had a balance of \$82,637.21. The CDs account had a balance of \$10,331.75. The Treasury Bonds account had a balance of \$20,664. A question was asked about the current CD rate. MaryRose said that she would have to look that up. Jeremy Lynch made a motion to approve the Treasurer's Report, which was seconded by Carl Fahnestock. The motion carried with no objections or abstentions.

MEMBERSHIP REPORT – Chair Bill Even announced that the Club currently has 333 members, which includes 58 Lifetime members and 7 Emeritus members. 313 of the 401 membership renewals that were sent out in November have been returned so far. Members were reminded to send in their renewals if they had not already done so. A reminder will be sent out later in December. There are also 18 prospective new members and 2 reinstatements who have not yet been approved by the Board.

APPROVAL OF NEW BOARD MEMBERS – Midge then asked the departing governors (Dave Kraus, Kurt Meyer, Cindy Mueller, Judy Reynolds and Bridget Whitley) to stand and be recognized for their service to the Club. She then presented the names of the following candidates for election to the BOG for a three-year term: Jinan Bahia, Jeanne Foley, Georgi Hess, Darius Kapadia, and Tammy Stine. Dorothy Disney made a motion to accept this slate, which was seconded by Tony McBeth. The motion carried with no opposition or abstentions.

PRESIDENT'S REMARKS – Midge then remarked that HBC had great year. We celebrated our 75th Anniversary with a slate of events in May. The F2F table count has increased and our membership has grown. All these things have happened because of the people who pitch in every day, whether in obvious roles such as directing and teaching or in behind-the-scenes activities such as running the website and keeping the snack bar stocked. She also recalled that when she first came to the Club about 8 years ago, she was

nervous because HBC had a reputation for being unfriendly. Today, the atmosphere is congenial and just right for playing this wonderful game.

She then named the nominees for election as BOG officers for 2024: President - Jack Hund; Vice President- Andre St. Omer Roy; Secretary - Cecile Hund; and Treasurer – MaryRose Noto-Hardy. Darius Kapadia has again volunteered to be the Assistant Treasurer, which is not an elected position.

AWARDS AND PRESENTATIONS -

NEW LIFE MASTERS IN 2023—Midge then presented inscribed trays to new Life Masters: Bobbie Goodyear, Georgi Hess, Lee Morrison, and Judy Reynolds. Cathy Brown, Mary Moyer and Paul Sekula were not present to receive their trays, but can pick them up when they are next at the Club.

THE MARIE AND BILL STAUTER GAME WINNERS 2022 – She then announced the winners of the Annual Meeting Games in 2022: Jeremy Lynch and Phil Monyer in the Open Game, Shirley Rasmussen and Tom Anderson in the in the 0-750 Game, and Nancy and Bob Lesniewski in the 0-400 Game.

THE HAROLD F. LANSHE, MD TROPHY- Midge presented this award to Bill Even for greatest improvement in his game and commitment to the Club.

TEACHERS - Mike Mendelson, Education Committee Chair, then expressed his sincere thanks and appreciation to those who teach and help with Bridge education at the Club, and then gave out small gifts to: Ricky Boyer, Jacqueline Granite, Cecile Hund, Jack Hund, Jan Leuenberger, Dennis Shaub and Midge Sobolewski. Jack Rudy was not present to receive his gift.

.

DIRECTORS – Club Manager, Jim Boyer, next recognized HBC directors and awarded Giant gift cards to Tom Anderson, Dave Charleston, Georgi Hess, Jack Hund, Jan Leuenberger, Pam Murray, Barb Vander Jagt, and Bridget Whitley. Jinan Bahia, Linda Ivanoff, Kurt Meyer, and Bob Priest were not present to receive their cards.

AWARDS FOR PLAY – Jim then announced the names of those who had earned the top three MP totals in each category at the Club this year: Open – Phil Monyer, Jack Hund and Ricky Boyer; 750-1500 - Jeff Osman, Jacqueline Granite, and Mike Mendelson; 100-750 – Cindy Mueller, Jim Fitzgibbons and Ray Rizzo; under 100 – Bill Even, Monica Knopf and John Erno. Free play slips were awarded.

Midge then asked for remarks from the floor and Bill Even commended her for a job well done. There was a round of applause. Then, the members sang Happy Birthday to Pam Murray who was celebrating her 80th and she made the first cut of her cake.

ADJOURNMENT – There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn by Pat Kaufold and seconded by Maggie Whipple. The motion carried, with no opposition and no abstentions. The meeting was then adjourned at 11:38 AM.