Full Screen Print Page Latest Enhancements Web Administration Help and Guide
Release 2.19m
Important Notices

If you think there is a problem with the website, please contact the ECBA Webmaster (click here) .   Any feedback is gratefully received.  Best wishes - Petra

General Data Protection Regulations

ECBA Privacy Statement

Home Page
Information Page
Presidents & Chairmen
AGM Minutes
Committee Meetings Minutes
Other Documents
Master Points
Landmark Promotions
Contact Web Master
Entry Form for Competitions
Entries Received
Partners or Team Mates Wanted
Essex Competitions
Championship & B Flight Pairs
Club Trophy - Cup for Clubs
Club Pairs
George Curtis
Gwen Herga
Mixed Pairs
Mixed Teams of Four
National Pairs Heat
Ray Cornell
Sue Taylor
Swiss Pairs
Essex Leagues
SE & West Essex - 2018/19
SE & West Essex - 2017/18
SE & West Essex - 2016/17
SE & West Essex - 2015/16
SE & West Essex - 2014/15
→ SE & W Essex Archive
Essex Knock Out Cups
Teams of Four & Plate
Switch Cup
Teams of Four & Plate Archive
Switch Cup Archive
Premier League KO Archive
Eastern Counties League
ECL Duties & Conduct
ECL 2017/18 Teams & Results
ECL 2016/17 Teams & Results
ECL 2015/16 Teams & Results
ECL Tables (Archive)
Eve Goblets
Eve Goblets - Points Rules
Eve Goblets - History
Warboys Archive
Seniors\' Cup
Metropolitan Cup
Tollemache Qualifiers
National KO Teams Competitions
Saxons & TGR Super League‏
Bridge Education
Youth Bridge
In Memoriam
Private Adverts
News Archive
News Archive - 2016
News Archive - 2015
News Archive - 2014
News Archive - 2013
News Archive - 2012
News Archive - 2011
Friendly League - 2016
Friendly League - 2015
Friendly League - 2014
Pro / Am - last held 2015
Really Easy Pairs - last held 2017
League Cup - last played 2016
Play w.a. Expert - last played 2017
Site Search
Test Page
Webmaster\'s Reminder List
Useful Links
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2018
Championship & B Flight Pairs
Championship Pairs

Essex County Pairs Championship 

An Essex Green Pointed Event for the Burrows Trophies

This is a double session, one-day competition, the major Essex competition for Pairs.

Heats will be played in the afternoon and in the evening 14 pairs will qualify for the all-play-all final; the remainder will play in a Consolation Final

The first four pairs in the main final have the opportunity of playing in the Corwen Trophy (the Inter-county Pairs Championship) in June 2017

There is also a parallel "B Flight" Section (see below) for less experienced pairs

Entry is open only to those who have given allegiance to Essex for the current year

Click here for Entry Fees & Prizes for all ECBA Competitions



Date: Sunday 14th April 2019. Barleylands CM11 2UD . Start time: 13:00 (- 20:30)

Tea/Coffee/Biscuits provided throughout, but no plated tea: bring your own food as required

Holders: Graham Beeton & Ray Clarke

B Flight Pairs

This will be a single session event and entry is open to Essex players who are not past or present members of Essex County A, B or C squads. Any player who achieves a score of 50% or greater will have the opportunity of taking part in the evening’s Championship Pairs Consolation Event should they so wish. Any pair wishing to do so needs to be reminded that we only provide light refreshments at this event.

Click here for Entry Fees & Prizes for all ECBA Competitions


Holders: Not played in 2018


Date: Sunday 14th April 2019. Barleylands CM11 2UD. Start time: 13:00 (- 20:30)

Tea, coffee, biscuits etc available throughout 

Championship, B Flight & Corwen Pairs History
2018 Championship 1st Graham Beeton & Ray Clarke
2nd Marc Chawner & Simon Moorman
Consolation 1st not played due to insufficient number of tables
Heat Winners n/a
B Flight Winners Cancelled due to insufficient entries
Corwen (invitation)  Robert Elliott & Tanya Genthe, Jacek Lapszys & Sandy Riach     
2017 Championship 1st Paul & Val Mollison
2nd Paul Spencer & Marc Chawner
Consolation 1st Graham Foster & Dennis Johnson
2nd Laurie & Stephanie Burtt
Heat Winnners Alan Cohen & Richard Register
B Flight Winnners John & Ann Davison
Corwen  Paul Spencer & Marc Chawner (5th), Chris Chorley & Paddy Murray
2016 Championship 1st Alan Cohen & Richard Register
2nd Paul Spencer & Marc Chawner
Consolation 1st Robert Elliott & Tanya Genthe
2nd Audrey Hartley & Alison Spencer
Heat Winnners Graham Foster & Dennis Johnson
B Flight Winnners Brenda & Frans Vas Nunes
Corwen Paul Spencer & Marc Chawner (3rd), Laurie & Stephanie Burtt, Richard Register & Alan Cohen, Ashley Sawyer & Gary Waller
2015 Championship 1st I Moss & M Graham
2nd P Spencer & M Chawner
Consolation 1st J McCoy & M Levan-Harris
2nd A Philpott & N Bardsley
Heat Winnners C Megahey & A Cundy
B Flight Winnners T Burney & G Chasmer
Corwen Laurie & Stephanie Burtt, and Michael Wren & Richard Perryman
2014 Championship 1st G Chadha & T Todman
2nd D Sherman & M Curtis
Consolation 1st S Moorman & P Oake
2nd L Fleet & A Kitchin
Heat Winnners C Leighton & M Krimgoltz
Corwen D Sherman & M Curtis, A Greenstein & Y Dias, P Scotting & P Johnson
2013 Championship 1st J Sutcliffe & C Megahey
2nd D Sherman & M Curtis
Consolation 1st T Cockle & J Williams
2nd P Oake & S Moorman
Heat Winnners D Piper & F Morrison
2012 Championship 1st T Philpott & N Bardsley
2nd P Oake & S Moorman
Consolation 1st R Hudson & J Birch
2nd T Verran & S Dunstan
2011 Championship 1st T Philpott & N Bardsley
2nd  G Foster & S Cade-Bowyer
Consolation 1st M Curtis & D Sherman
2nd B Harrison & D Duffy
2010 Championship 1st L Burtt & A Coral
2nd P Oake & S Moorman
Consolation 1st P O'Gara & W Coldham
2nd L Lapszys & M Watson
Spoon A Philpott & N Bardsley
R Clarke
2009 Championship 1st B Harrison & D Duffy
2nd J Birch & R Hudson
Consolation 1st A & B West
2nd R & J Tattersfield
Spoon B Robinson & P Murray
M & S Smith
2008 Championship 1st M Homer & T Fox
2nd R Cornell & D Clark
Consolation 1st D Roth & M Marks
2nd S Riach & R Elliott
Spoon R Cornell & D Clark
C & S Taylor