Full Screen Print Page Latest Enhancements Web Administration Help and Guide
Release 2.19k
Important Notices
  1. If you think there's a problem with the website, please contact the ECBA Webmaster and NOT Bridgewebs, using the menu-item below.
  2. If you do well in a tournament and think your success deserves a mention, please let the webmaster know promptly. 
  3. www.essexbridge.co.uk, or
Recent Updates
Home Page
17th Oct 2017 12:21 BST
Metropolitan Cup
10th Oct 2017 13:26 BST
10th Oct 2017 10:11 BST
Documents / Minutes
2nd Oct 2017 20:56 BST
Bridge Education
30th Sep 2017 19:18 BST
News Archive
29th Sep 2017 20:34 BST
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2017
Ray Cornell
Ray Cornell Prize / Trophy

This event is two competitions in one. 

  • The initial competition is a simple multi-teams of four event with the Ray Cornell Trophy going to the winners. 
  • The second is a club competition to win the right to represent Essex in the Garden Cities Competition.  To be eligible a club must enter two teams designated A and B.  If a club enters more than two teams the A and B teams must be named before the start of the competition.  The winning club is the club whose A and B teams’ positions when added together has the lowest value; and the club will receive the prize of £200 to help defray the costs of representing Essex in the Garden Cities Competition.  

Approximately 25 x 2-board matches will be played. Winners will be decided by total IMPs. Scoring will be done using bridgemates. Half the matches will be completed by the break. A Teams will not meet their Club B counterparts and vice versa. 

Thanks to the kind generosity of Mrs Barbara Cornell, the Ray Cornell Prize will be presented to the club whose teams are going forward to represent Essex in the Garden Cities and is to help offset expenses involved for the eight team members involved. Any remainder would be used by the club to assist their club players in entering ECBA events.

Click here for Entry Fees & Prizes for all ECBA Competitions


Tea, coffee, biscuits etc available throughout. A plated tea will also be provided at the break between sessions


Date: Sunday 18th February 2018, starting at 14:00 ( - 21:00); Venue: Anglo European School, Willow Green, Ingatestone, CM4 0DJ; Refreshments: Impulse Catering.


Ray Cornell Trophy: Thorpe Bay B: Chris Chorley & Paddy Murray; Mike Wren & Richard Perryman

Ray Cornell Prize: Thorpe Bay

Ray Cornell (formerly Helliar) Past Results

Click on the Year for detailed Results (where available)

2017 Ray Cornell Prize Thorpe Bay
Ray Cornell Trophy Winners Thorpe Bay B: Chris Chorley & Paddy Murray; Mike Wren & Richard Perryman
Ray Cornell Trophy Runners-up Lingwood: Stuart & Michael Wildig; Tim Connett & Steve Ensor
2016 Ray Cornell Prize Chelmsford
Ray Cornell Trophy Winners Chelmsford A: Audrey Hartley & Alison Spencer, Sandy & Martin Smith
Ray Cornell Trophy Runners-up Mid Essex B: Peter Oake & Simon Moorman, Gary Howchen & Steve Cade-Bowyer
2015 Ray Cornell Prize Mid Essex Bridge Club
Ray Cornell Trophy Winners Thorpe Bay A: Richard Register & Tanya Genthe, Allan Greenstein & Paddy Murray
Ray Cornell Trophy Runners-up Mid Essex A: Bernie Hunt & Paul Mollison, Peter Oake & Simon Moorman
2014 Ray Cornell Prize Chelmsford
Ray Cornell Trophy Winners Barleylands: Paul Mollison & Gary Howchen, Simon Moorman & Steve Cade-Bowyer
Ray Cornell Trophy Runners-up Mountnessing B: Roger & Jill Tattersfield, Peter Franklin & Frank Morrison
2013 Garden Cities Thorpe Bay
Helliar Winners Thorpe Bay B: Roger Bright & Bob Hair, Paddy Murray & Jill Hair
Helliar Runners-up Mountnessing A: Roger & Jill Tattersfield, Chris Megahey & Alaric Cundy
2012 Garden Cities Thorpe Bay
Helliar Winners Waltham Forest A
Helliar Runners-up Lingwood A
2011 Garden Cities Chelmsford
Helliar Winners Mountnessing C: Dennis Valtisiaris & Frances Alexander, Paul Mollison & Frank Morrison
Helliar Runners-up Mountnessing A: Margaret Curtis & Peter Oake, John Sutcliffe & Alan Eames
2010 Garden Cities Lingwood
Helliar Winners Collier Row: Robert Elliott & Sandy Riach, Ann Clark & Terence Clark
Helliar Runners-up Hutton A: Ray Cornell & David Clark, Simon Moorman & Ray Clarke