Spade Heart  Diamond Club
Engineers Ireland Bridge Club
Insufficient Bid - Law 27

Insufficient Bid - Law 27

Accepting an insufficient bid -

An insufficient bid may be accepted by offender's Left Hand Opponent. If the LHO makes any call, they are deemed to have accepted the insuffient bid. The bid stands if it is accepted.

Replacing an insufficient bid -

If it is not accepted, then it must be replaced by a sufficient bid.

1. If it is replaced by the lowest sufficient bid in the same denomination, and the TD is of the opinion that neither bid is artificial, the auction proceeds with no further rectification.

  • if the bidding went 1H - 1D, the 1D may be corrected to 2D, if both 1D and 2D are definitely natural bids in the system played.

2. ​It may also be replaced by another call without penalty, if the TD is of the opinion that the new call has the same meaning in their bidding system, or that it has a more precise meaning which was contained in the possible meanings of the original bid. In that situation, the auction proceeds with no further rectification.

  • Example:- Suppose the bidding goes 1S -(2D) - 1NT, not having seen the overcall of 2D. 1NT was meant to show 6-9 points with no spade support. If a double over the 2D would have exactly the same meaning, in their bidding system, it is permitted. However, the double is not permitted if it gives extra information - e.g. confirming a holding in hearts.
  • If their system has another bid which could show a narrower range of 8-9 points and no spade support, that would also be permitted as it is contained in the possible meanings of the original bid.

NOTE:- although the bidding continues in situations 1 and 2, the TD may still adjust the score if he judges that the non-offending side has been damaged.

3. If the insufficient bid is replaced by any other sufficient bid or pass, the offender's partner must pass whenever it is their turn to call. If the offender becomes a defender, declarer may forbid or require the offender's partner to lead the suit of the insufficient bid.

4. if the offender attempts to replace the insufficient bid by double or redouble, and that is not a conventional call which complies with 2 above, then they must replace it with a sufficient bid or pass.The offender's partner must pass whenever it is their turn to call. If the offender becomes a defender, declarer may forbid or require the offender's partner to lead the suit of the insufficient bid.

NOTE:- The TD may adjust the score if they judge that the non-offending side has been damaged - for example if the offending side gains because the partner has been forced to pass.

Copyright Michael O'Malley 2016