East Wales Bridge Association

Minutes of the AGM 28th April 2019 held at Gwent Bridge Academy

Chairman Geoff Evans called the meeting to commence at 2.30 p.m.

1 Attendance and Apologies

34 members were present, all those participating in the Arthur James Bowl (the list of names may be accessed at the EWBA website, Results page). Apologies for absence had been received from Keith Edwards and Roger Wright.

2 Minutes of the AGM held on 29 April 2018

The minutes were approved. There were no matters arising.

3 Chairman's Remarks

Geoff Evans gave a comprehensive report on the past year's activities, thanking officers of the Association and all the clubs who had hosted and organised EWBA events noting that Monmouth club had taken on the task of preparing the duplicated boards for EWBA Congresses and events. He referred to the continuing success of the East Wales League and exhorted clubs and members to form additional teams in the coming 2019-20 season. He thanked Jason He for his work as Webmaster, from which post he had stepped down recently, and welcomed Mia Deschepper who was taking on the role in addition to her work publicising EWBA events.

Geoff thanked Sarah Amos for having taken on the WBU Presidency in 2018-19, East Wales's year by rotation to nominate. He congratulated her on a successful and very busy year.

The meeting recorded its thanks for Geoff's work for and leadership of the Association. A full transcript of the Chairman's speech will be available on the EWBA website.

4 Treasurer's Report

Simon Gottschalk presented the accounts of the Association for the year to 31st March 2019. These showed a small surplus for the first time for several years. He emphasised the importance of the annual Congresses to the financial viability of EWBA, warned that the cost of hiring the Lysaght Institute would rise in 2019-20 and exhorted the membership to support their Congresses and to encourage others to play in them. The accounts may be viewed on the EWBA website. There were no questions from the meeting which recorded its appreciation and thanks for Simon's work and for that of the independent examiner, Laurie Delmonte.

5 Tournament Director's Report

Helen Houston had provided a printed report (available on the EWBA website). Winners of competitions were congratulated and prizes and trophies (where available) were presented. Helen noted that the devolution of a number of National events to be run by Areas was increasing the ATO's workload. Helen thanked Meike Deschepper for her contribution to publicising events and to clubs for hosting them. The meeting expressed its thanks for the work of Helen and her team.

6 League Organiser's Report

Steve Webb reported that all league matches in the 2018-19 season had been completed on schedule. The winners were: Division 1, Cardiff Allstars; Division 2, Penarth Menagerie; Division 3, Rhiwbina Ruffnecks. The East Wales League tables are available on the EWBA website. Division winners were congratulated and prizes presented. Steve was hopeful of increasing the number of teams in 2019-20. The meeting thanked him for his work in organising both this league and our teams in the Western league and also Richard Welsford for organising the Western League C team.

7 Election of Officers

Geoff Evans (Chair), Simon Gottschalk (Treasurer), and Helen Houston (Tournament Organiser), had all indicated that they were willing to stand again for those positions. There had been no other nominations. Their appointments were confirmed. There had been no nominations for the post of Secretary. Adrian Trickey had indicated that he would resign with effect from this meeting. The EWBA Committee would continue to seek a Secretary and use their power to co-opt to fill this position.

8 Election of Auditor

Laurie Delmonte was re-elected auditor for the year 2019-20.

9 Members' Business

No motions had been received.

10 Date of next AGM

This will be on the day of the Arthur James Bowl competition in April or May 2020, to be confirmed when the WBU calendar for 2019-20 is finalised.