Spade Heart Dublin South Region Diamond Club
Dublin South Region
Full Screen Print Page Latest Enhancements Web Administration Help and Guide
Release 2.19k
Latest News

Congratulations to Dublin South pair Michael McAuliffe and Conor Boland on a great win in the season's first major national competition, the Duais an Uachtaráin. Hopefully a portent of another successful Dublin South season!

Recent Updates
Featured Clubs
15th Oct 2017 17:50 BST
Latest News
27th Sep 2017 11:32 BST
Archive & History
26th Sep 2017 00:17 BST
Objectives & Constitution
26th Sep 2017 00:07 BST
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2017
4Fun Teams
4Fun Teams

The 4Fun Teams is a recent, and very welcome, addition to the bridge calendar.  The concept was initiated in 2009 by Frank Kelly.  The format is designed to encourage players who haven't played bridge in formal competitions outside their home club to do so in a fun and friendly setting, and to introduce new players to Teams bridge.

There is a national 4Fun teams final held every year for the Frank & Brenda Kelly Trophy.  The 2017 national final will be held on Saturday 26 May 2018 in Westmanstown.  Here in Dublin South, we will hold two qualifiers for the national final, with at least three teams qualifying from each - the first in the RDS Bridge Club on Friday 27 October 2017, and the second in Milltown Golf Club on Monday 29 January 2018.

The format is a team of four, with each team consisting of a Novice, and Intermediate B, an Intermediate A, and a Master.  In a change to previous years, for this year's national final, the Novice and Intermediate B players will play together as as a pair throughout, and will play against their direct opponents from the other team, as will the Master and Intermediate A players.  In Dublin South, we have chosen to maintain the old format (Novice and Master, Intermediate B and Intermediate A pairings) for our qualifiers.

Only a limited system (described here is permitted, to eliminate the need to be familiar with a lot of bidding conventions.   The Master players are specifically asked to to be as helpful and unintimidating as possible to their less experienced partners, and the Tournament Directors have specific instructions to be sympathetic to the Novice players.  So it is a great way to experience outside competition, and to learn from more experienced players, and we would encourage as many people as possible to play in this year's event.  You can either enter a full team or an incomplete one in which case we will do our best to fill the relevant gaps for you.  Entries please to Deirdre Fallon 087-6632111.