Spade Heart Dublin South Region Diamond Club
Full Screen Print Page Latest Enhancements Web Administration Help and Guide
Release 2.19l
Latest News

Congratulations to the winners of the Seamus Dowling Trophy, held recently in the Templeogue Centre, who were Anne Keating, Frances Kelly, Gerry McKenna, and Dermot O'Brien.


Recent Updates
Fanagan League
22nd Feb 2018 11:23 GMT
Home Page
22nd Feb 2018 11:22 GMT
Featured Clubs
12th Feb 2018 23:53 GMT
Latest News
12th Feb 2018 23:30 GMT
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2018
Fanagan League
Fanagan League

The Fanagan League is a long-standing and much-loved feature of the Dublin South bridge calendar.  Kindly sponsored since 1998 by Fanagans Funeral Directors, it is an inter-club team of four competition, run on a round-robin format, on a home and away basis, across a number of grade and age categories.  The objectives of the league are to promote teams bridge and to encourage inter-club competition.  The players who have played in it over the years have really enjoyed it, and have found it a great way to visit other clubs and make new friendships (albeit competitive ones!),  It is traditional for the home team to provide a light supper for their visitors during matches, and the league concludes each year with an end-of-season gala event and prize-giving, with food and wine provided - this year's end-of-season event will be on Sunday 29 April 2018, in Templeogue.

In 2017/18 there are leagues for the following categories:


Intermediate B

Intermediate A

Confined Master (less than 100 National Points)

Senior Intermediate (aged 60+ years and of Intermediate A or B grade)

Any queries on the Fanagan League to Ann Fitzmaurice (01-4943640 or please. Entries for 2017/18 have now closed and fixtures are being completed.  All the important information in relation to the League is set out in documents below:

Fanagan League Regulations 2017-18.docx

Fanagan - Masterpoints.docx

Fanagan Match Procedure - Confined Masters and Intermediate As.docx

Fanagan Match Procedure - Senior Intermediates Intermediate Bs and Novices.docx

Fanagan Score Sheet 18 20 Boards.docx

Fanagan Score Sheet 20 24 Boards.docx

and the results of the matches played through mid-February 2018 are summarised here Fanagan League Results Summary 18 Feb 2018.xlsx

Fanagan League Results 2016/17
Bankers Egan
Donnybrook LTC O Brien
Milltown Golf Club Intermediate Bs
Milltown Golf Club Senior Intermediates
Regent Dunne
St Judes
Bankers Moore
Donnybrook LTC Webb
Milltown Golf Club Novices
Regent Hill
Move "mouse" over thumbnail to change

Move Mouse over thumbnail to change picture

The Fanagan League gala final night was held in the Templeogue Bridge Centre on Sunday 7 May, and as ever a great night was had by all.  Our sincere thanks to Fanagans Funeral Directors, the long-standing sponsors of this event - without their support it would not be possible - especially to Orla Fanagan who attended the final night and presented the prizes to the winners, including a team she played on herself in the case of the Novice competition, and to the League Co-Ordinator, Ann Fitzmaurice, for her excellent stewardship and organisation of both the final night and the event as a whole.

Pictured with Orla Fanagan of the sponsors and Dublin South President Dermot O'Brien, the winning teams were: 

Novice - Milltown Golf Club

Orla Fanagan, Anne Donnellan (C), Ger Victory, Ger O'Sullivan, Clara O'Leary, Stephanie Browne, [absent: Annette Morris, Grainne Margetson, Yvonne Morahan]

Inter B, Div 1 - Donnybrook Lawn Tennis Club

Denis O'Brien (C), Carol Dillon, Denise O'Brien Dermot O'Connell, [absent: Pat Deasy, Anne Sommerville]

Inter B, Div 2 - Donnybrook Lawn Tennis Club

Susan Webb (C), Eileen Hanratty, Miriam Corboy, Teresa Hurley, Mary Gorey, [absent: Marie Nolan]                                                                                                        

Inter B, Div 3 - Milltown Golf Club

Anne Jackson, Ann Kenneally (C), Rose Mary Kirwan, Margaret Whitla, [absent: Ann Hurley, Naomi Mooney, Edel Dunleavy, Liam Hanrahan]

Inter A, Div 1 - Bankers

Pat Egan (C), Grainne Courtney, Paul Kane, Michelle Moloney, Kazimierz Noga, Frank Kennedy, [absent: Paul Williams, Sheila Williams]

Inter A, Div 2 - Regent  (also winners of the Marie Cummins Salver for the best overall performance)

Suzanne Hill (C), Mary Gleeson, Fionnuala Lynch, Elaine Fitzpatrick, [absent: Maeve Murphy, Dermot McCluskey]

Inter A, Div 3 - RDS

Graeme Williams (C), Elsa Ranalow, Roger Jupp, Sheila Hillis, Sé O'Connor, Terry Dolan

Inter A, Div 4 - St. Jude's

Niall O'Sullivan (C), Noreen Flynn, Bernadette McGillion, Pat McGillion, [absent: Tony Diveney]

Senior Intermediate - Milltown Golf Club

Ann Purcell, Kathleen O'Grady (C), Ronnie McGeough, Pauline O'Grady, [absent: Margaret Moloney, Helen Moe, Miriam Walsh]   

Confined Master - Bankers

Sheila Horkan, Conor Moore (C), Mick Lynch, Ruth O'Dea, Marie Slattery, Barbara Walsh

Senior Open - Regent

Fred Barry, Heidi Lillis, Michael McGloughlin, [absent: Grainne Dunne (C), Eamon Keogh, Patricia Kelly, Paul Porteous, Anne Johnson, Alan Johnson, David Ryan]

Full results for the 2016/17 Fanagan League season are here Fanagan League Update