Spade Heart  Diamond Club
Full Screen Print Page Latest Enhancements Web Administration Help and Guide
Release 2.19m
Bridge lessons and practice sessions

The Deva Bridge Club provides many opportunities for players to learn to play bridge or to improve their game including beginners lessons, improvers lessons, supervised play sessions and gentle duplicate.

For more details click on Lessons and Practice Sessions in the menu.

You can also check the calendar to see dates and times. (Lessons and practice sessions are shown in green.)

New to the Deva?

For details of our programme of lessons, pairs sessions, teams league, supervised social play, gentle duplicate and rubber bridge click on information in the menu above this message.

Contact Information

Telephone: 01244 335514


Principal TD (Jean Stelfox)


Lessons (Mo Borley)


Hosting (Annie Mead)


Deva Teams League (Barbara Ginty)


For administrative matters contact:


Deva Bridge Club Ltd

Deva Bridge Club Ltd is a company limited by guarantee number 8645380 registered in England & Wales, registered office:

Deva Bridge Club
WI Hall
Village Road
CH3 7AS.

The club is affilated to the English Bridge Union and to Merseyside & Cheshire Bridge Association.

Championship Teams

The Deva's Championship Teams competition is the club's most prestigious teams event with the winners being represented on the club's honours boards.

It is referred to in the club's competitions procedures as the "Teams of Four Championship" although the rules then go on to explain that teams may consist of up to 6 players!

Like most of the club championships there are several qualifying rounds and a final. To qualify for the final a team must play in a minimum of three of the four qualifying rounds. Qualification for the final is based on the aggregate IMPs scored by each team in their best three qualifying rounds with a  maximum of 9 teams qualifying for the final.

Each team carries forward 20% of their qualifying score to the final so the eventual winners are determined by adding this carried forward score to the IMPS scored on the night. In the event of a tie the trophy will be awarded to the team finishing higher in the final itself.

2018/19 competition

To view the current table for the qualifying rounds click here.

2017/18 competition

The 2017/18 final was held on Friday April 6th.

The result of the final can be viewed by clicking here.

Congratulations to the winners: Alan Stephenson, Bob Pitts (holding the trophy), Stuart Matthews and Peter Broster.


The runners up (who look considerably happier than the winners!) were Stephen Lloyd, Sheila Banham, Bob Sneddon and David Smith.

Previous winners
  • 2016/17: Julian Merrill, David Flacks, Laurence Stone and Peter Hall
  • 2015/16: Matt Foster, John Hampson, Chris Pope, Andy Prothero and David Stevenson
  • 2014/15: Bob Pitts, Peter Broster, Stuart Matthews, Alan Stephenson and Mark Weeks
  • 2013/14: Matt Foster, John Hampson, John and Pauline Rudolf
  • 2012/13: David Stevenson, Liz Commins, John Hampson and Matt Foster
  • 2011/12: Bob Pitts, Peter Broster, Alan Stephenson and Stuart Matthews
  • 2010/11: David Stevenson, Liz Commins, Peter Kaufmann and Mike Amos
  • 2009/10: David Stevenson, Peter Kaufmann, Matt Foster and John Hampson