Cumbria County Duplicate Bridge Association
Recent Updates
Home Page
11th Feb 2018 22:27 GMT
Pivot Teams
16th Jan 2018 08:32 GMT
Inter Club Teams of Eight
11th Jan 2018 15:50 GMT
Championship Teams of Four
11th Dec 2017 09:00 GMT
Latest County Result

Congratulations to

Ian Reeves & Tim Matthews

who won the County 

Pairs Championship


English Bridge Education and Development.

For information on educational programmes and support for teachers; TD training for Clubs and Counties follow the link.

Vu-Bridge Beginner's Corner

Vu-Bridge (ACOL version)
choosen by the EBU!

Read more about the English Bridge Education Department and FREE V-Blue for all EBUTA Teachers: Click here

Saturday January 30th, 2016:
Careful Play by Paul Bowyer

Click here to play

V-Blue - The beginners e-newsletter: 20 hands to play every two weeks - ACOL and Standard American versions available

Vu-Bridge Hand of the Week

New: Vu-Bridge Defender
Try sample hands: Click here

Saturday, January 30th, 2016:
Diamonds, again! By David Bird

Click here to play this hand

V-Green e-Newsletter: improve your Bridge skills - all levels

County Sim Pairs
  Rules - Sim Pairs

Autumn and Winter Simultaneous Pairs

General. The events are run on a weekday evening in the weeks designated by the County Committee.  The events are run in clubs affiliated to the County.

Systems and Treatments.Club rules apply

Eligibility. All of those playing in clubs, including visitors who are members of the EBU or another country's sponsoring organisation.

Scoring. Match pointing over the whole field when the events are combined. Ties remain as ties, with those who tie sharing any winnings. Master Points for ties allocated as per EBU schedule.

Special Rules. For clubs to participate, a minimum entry of 3½ tables is required, and for up to 5 tables an all-play-all movement must be adhered to. Non-standing pairs are not allowed to participate.

Dave Mullany Memorial Trophy. The winners (excluding visitors) with the highest percentage result over the Autumn and Winter Simultaneous Pairs competitions will be presented with the Dave Mullany Memorial Trophy.

  Previous Winners - Dave Mullany Memorial Trophy

2015/2016 Ian Smith & Tony Bartlett 71.32%

2014/2015 Mick Howse & Mike Ollerton 68.16%

2013/2014 Keith Longstaff & Joyce McCready 69.16

2012/2013 Colin Woods & Graeme Walker (Barrow)

2010/2011  Adam Aitken & Jim Dobb (Eden) 64.43%

2009/2010  Euan Maddrell & Carol James (Workington) 70.76%

  Previous Winners - Winter Sim Pairs

2017 Mike Brewer, Dave King

2016 Glenda Lloyd, Peter Boardman

2015 Glenda Lloyd, Peter Boardman

2014 Ken Johnston, Ian Reeves

2013 Colin Woods, Graeme Walker

2012 Colin Woods, Graeme Walker

2011 Adam Aitken, Jim Dobb (Eden)

2010 E Maddrell, C James (Workington)

2009 Alan Britten, Audrey Hoy (Cockermouth)

2008 Ian Reeves, Colin Smith (Eden)

2007 Geoff Bell, Kath Bell (Brampton)

2006 Mary Cooney, Heather Parsons (Barrow)

2005 Wendy Taylor, Pat Downes (Grange)


2003 Mike Dunstan, Tony Parker

2002 Glenda Lloyd, Peter Boardman (Barrow)


2000 Marjorie Bamford, Bill Hubbold (Barrow)

1999 Ian Stedman, Geoff Thomson (Eden)

1998 Philip and Jane Young

1997 Hazel McGovern, Isabel Moores (Workington)

1996 Alan Rutherford, Alison Thompson

1995 Janet Sheppard, Gary Bryson

1994 Kathleen and Geoff Bell

1993 Joyce Thompson, William Thompson

1992 Sid Cassidy, Phil Elliott

1991 Peggy Bowe, Jean Pike

  Previous Winners - Autumn Sim Pairs

2016 Carol James & K Longstaff (Workington)

2015 Ian Smith & Tony Bartlett (Carlisle)

2014 Mick Howse & Mike Ollerton (Grange)

2013 K Longstaff & Joyce McCreadie (Workington)

2012 Simon Smith, Rosemary Jackson Eden)

2011 Bill Hubbold, Estelle Savage (Barrow)

2010 Babs Matthews, Barry Ogden (Grange)

2009 Mike Howse, Chris Wilkinson (Grange)

2008 Peter Steele, Clive Tranter

2007 David Sheppard, Alan Britten (Cockermouth)

2006 Manel Trepte, Jack Etchells ( Barrow)

2005 Tony Aldred, Raj Rathi (Barrow)

2004 Harriet Dinwoodie, Ailleen Younger (St Bees)

2003 Babs Matthews, David Strawbridge (Barrow)

2002 David Latimer, John Robinson

2001 Ken Anderson, Tony Bartlett (Eden)

2000 Philip and Jane Young

1999 Jack Walker, Janet Sheppard

1998 Dorothy Kovary and Les Lytollis (Cockermouth)

1997 George and Elsie Schofield

1996 Peter Steele, Clive Tranter

1995 Dr & Mrs Gibbons

1994 Alan Fisher and D Lane

1993 Dennis Harrison, Keith Popham

1992 Graham Pearl, Don Yerrill

1991 Ian Stedman, In Reeves

1990 Ken & Enid Anderson

1989 John Wilson, Colin Smith

1988 Mary Hampshire, Fred Hudson

1987 Mr & Mrs L Mitchinson