Spade Heart  Diamond Club
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2018
2017 Waiting List

Helen Downing

Patricia Kelly

Betty Halligan

Anne Lawlor

Marie Dunne

Angela Harford

Patricia Bassett

Greta Kelly

Elaine Orr

Charles Corcoran

Maureen Grady

Gabrielle Dineen

Joan McAndrew

Margaret Tierney

Tony Owens

Frances Daly

Gerry Kyne

Marian Horkan

Anette Neil

James McCarthy

Pat Rooney

Roisin Troy

Rosie Alba

Carmel Shanley



Last updated :  16/06/2018
2017 Committee

President:   Paul O'Meara

Vice President:  Vacant

Treasurer: Helen McDevitt

Secretary: David Melody

ex Officio:  Richie Fallon

Points Secretary:  Jean Neary

Match Maker:   Noreen Fleming


Kittly McCabe

Ethel Mulhern

Sally Burke

Theresa Conlon

Tony Smyth

Ger Maher

General Information

The purpose of the handicap competitions is  to improve the integration of members by removing the "them and us" barriers and  to  assist improvers developing their game while at the same time attempting to level the playing field to all members.

Handicap competitions always prove controversial.   If handicap competitions proves attractive to the members then future handicaps will be based on actual results recorded in the Bridge Score computer system.   Until we have built up sufficient results in the software (4 competitions) we will base our initial handicaps on the following parameters

1. Each Pair’s grade will be based on the higher ranking of the pair.

2. Each Pair will be awarded a handicap based on

          A2 Pairs will play off zero handicap

          A1 Pairs will play off – 5%

          Masters will play off -10%

          B Players will play with + 5%

          Novices will play with +10%

3.  If these handicaps prove ineffective then there may be an adjustment to the above handicaps.  i.e. The average of each grade after omitting the best and worst scores will be considered.

General Rules (Sample)
Competitions shall be held at such times and under such conditions as the general committee or any sub-committee shall determine.

Any suggestions or complaints regarding the arrangements of "The Club" shall be submitted in writing and handed to the secretary or any member of the general committee and shall be considered at the next committee meeting.

"The Club" accepts no responsibility whatever for the property or belongings of any member or visitor whilst on the premises of "The Club".

Any matter not provided for in these regulations and all questions arising regarding their construction or implication shall be decided by the general committee.

The Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary and members of the general committee shall not be responsible, either individually or jointly, for any liabilities incurred by "The Club". All members shall be equally responsible for any liabilities incurred during their time of membership.

Alterations, additions or amendments to these regulations and constitution cannot be made except by a resolution at a general meeting.

These regulations and constitution were adopted at the Annual General Meeting held on 1st of January 2000.