Spade Heart Brighouse Bridge Club Diamond Club
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2019
Master Points

Master points are awarded on Monday and Wednesday mornings, Monday and Friday evenings.


Welcome to Brighouse Bridge Club
Who We Are

We are a friendly and active club based in the centre of Brighouse, West Yorkshire.

We offer a range of social and competitive bridge events, five days a week, for players from beginners to experts.

Our English Bridge Union trained teachers provide beginners and improvers courses throughout the year and we have 4 teams regularly competing in the regional leagues.

Visitors and new members are always welcome, whatever their standard.

For more information about the club please access our contact page from the menu on the left.

New Teaching Course

  Course Starting Tuesday 7th May  

10.00 a.m to 12 noon

30 Weeks broken into 3x10 Week Terms

Cost £20 per Term to Include Course Book

Easy Parking Next Door, Short Walk From the Bus Station

For Information Please Contact:-

Ingrid Kalischer - 01484 717017 or 0746207767, email

Tony Moyle - email

There is Disabled Access


Weekly Timetable


  • Morning – Social Bridge- No partner required
  • Evening – Duplicate Bridge -Partner required


  • Evening – Team Bridge- No partner required


  • Morning - Social Bridge- No partner required
  • Morning - (fortnightly from 9/1/19) - Continuing Bridge class – learning session ideal for people with some experience of Bridge
    No partner required Wed am prog.pdf
  • Evening - Gentle Bridge, duplicate play with advice and revision - No partner required Gentle bridge 2019.pdf



  • Morning –.Duplicate Bridge
  • Evening – Duplicate Bridge – Partner required

All morning classes start at 10.00 am and evening classes at 7.00pm, unless stated otherwise.

Please use the ‘find a partner' section of the website if you need a partner for Monday or Friday evenings

Dates for your Diaries:

Competion dates 2018.pdf

Monday 24 September - MOYLE CUP– format – Pairs

WINNERS: Harry Swarbrick & Terry Crabtree

Monday 22 October – MAVIS BAMFORTH CUP – format – Mixed Pairs

WINNERS: Harry Swarbrick & Ruth Hartley


WINNERS: Melanie Woodcock,Mike Rigg and Barry Pocock, Christina Pocock

Monday 26 November – TOM GASKELL MEMBERS CUP – format – Random Pairs

WINNERS: John Beverley & Paul Green

Thursday  11 April 2019 – ARAK CUP – format – Mens Pairs

WINNERS: Anthony Hirst & Raymond Stone

Monday 21 January 2019 - ADAMS CUP –format – Ladies Pairs                                 

WINNERS: Jennifer Bragg and Barbara Martin             



CONGRATULATIONS to everyone who played in the Yorkshire Sunday League Teams

Team A      has been promoted to Div 4  (5 wins, 1 draw, 1 defeat) 
Team B.     has been promoted to Div  5  (5 wins, 2 defeats) 
Team C.     Narrowly missed promotion to Div 9 by a late unfavourable result  (5 wins, 1 draw, 1 defeat)
Team D.     will now be playing in Div 11  (1 win, 6 defeats) 

Thank you to all the Team Captains for all their hard work in organising all the matches and for compiling their match reports.

Thank you to all the bridge players who have supported the club in their 7 matches, the final results have been incredible.


For full match reports please see the Results/ Competition Results page on the top left hand side of the website

Click on the following link for details of our 2018/19fixtures: Team Fixtures.pdf

All of our home matches will be played at Huddersfield Golf club, Fixby Hall, Lightridge Road, Fixby, Huddersfield, ​HD2 2EP, with the exception of the first match which will take place  on 28th Oct. at Bradley Hall Golf Club 




News from the AGM 2019

At the AGM held on the 7th  February 2019

The  board was elected / re-elected as follows: Jo Brook, Stephen Farey,  Steve Galpin, Lynda Hirst, Brian Jarvis, Tony Moyle, Mike Rigg,  David Whitaker and Melanie Woodcock. All members will stand for a maximum of 3 years, with a rolling programme or election.


Following the AGM the following members were elected as officers as follows:

Chairman        Jo Brook

Secretary         Tony Moyle

Treasurer        David Whitaker

Minutes of all of the board meetings can be found in the members section of this website.

Not sure how to access the members section of the website or get an application form?

To get a password:

1     Click on the Membership tab on the left side of the Home page.

2.    On the Member Login page type in your own e-mail address and then click on the Forgotten Password button. 

This will send an e-mail addressed to you with a link to enable you to re-set your password with either one of your own choosing or a random one generated by the system.


To get an membership / application form, click on this link: Membership Form 2018.pdf

Please contact me via if you have any problems





Duplicate Bridge
Director: Ray
Scorer: Ray
Social Bridge
Director: Paul b
Scorer: Paul B
Duplicate Bridge
Director: GDF
Scorer: GDF
19th April 2019
Duplicate Bridge
The Assembly Rooms 7 pm
22nd April 2019
Social Bridge
The Assembly Rooms 10 am
22nd April 2019
Duplicate Bridge
The Assembly Rooms 7 pm
Bridge Classes for 2019

New Programme 2019

The following link sets out the new classes  taking place in 2019

Programme 2019.pdf

Wed am Programme 2019.pdf

All courses cost £2.50 members & £3.50 for Non-members per session

Contact details

Members contact number.

For all general enquires about the club, training events etc please e.mail:

Urgent Phone messages: The club now has its own mobile so members can contact the director if they are going to be delayed or are unable to make a session.  The number is: 07568374329. 

Please note this number is for urgent messages only such as "Delayed by traffic and unable to contact your playing partner" etc. Please do not use this for any general enquires etc.

Trophy Winners
Trophy Winners

Better Bridge in Brighouse 2018

Melanie Woodcock & Mike Rigg and

Christina & Barry Pocock

Trophy presented by the Chairman Jo Brook


Arak Cup - Men's Pairs

Brian Shea and Mick Clerk

Adams Cup - Ladies' Pairs - Shirley Blamires and Joan Payne

Members Cup - Tom Gaskell Random Pairs

Melanie Woodcock and Neil Robertshaw

Better Bridge in Brighouse 2017

Christine and Barry Pocock and

Neil Robert shaw and George Pitt