Spade Heart  Diamond Club
Blundellsands Bridge Club
 
Looking for a partner?

 

 Make sure you have an up to date list of member telephone numbers (ask Gill if you need one)

               

 Use the members only section of website to request a partner (ask Gill if you need help)

♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ ♠ 

 Put your name on the list on the club notice board

                

 Ring Gill at home on  

0151 924 0868

or send her a text to 

0798 117 0515

♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ ♣ 

 Ask the TD to announce at start of a session


 

 
TDs' musings
A few ramblings and items on interpretation of the rules - if there is anything you would like us to cover please advise by e-mail.
New rules for Duplicate Bridge players
New rules for Duplicate Bridge players

 

 

The EBU introduced the new laws on 1st August 2017.  There are no earth shattering changes but a few tweeks and adjustments that you should be aware of, particularly:-

 

 

  1. You are now expected to shuffle your hand before returning it to the board.  This has been recommended practice for many years and is now codified into the laws.
     
  2. Defenders are now allowed to ask one another whether they have revoked and, providing neither of them have led or played to the next trick, the possible revoke can be corrected.  Any card they played in error before the correction becomes a penalty card.  When this occurs you should call the director who will explain the significance of the penalty card and the non-offending side's right to change any cards they may have played after the initial revoke.
     
  3. Defenders can now draw their partners attention to any trick that they have wrongly attributed when quitting it, by pointing the card the wrong way, providing they do so before the next trick is in play.
Click here to be redirected to the EBU summary of the changes
Changing a bid made by mistake
Changing a bid made by mistake
We have had a few instances of bids having been made in error.  The EBU regulations state that:

"Calls made using [bidding] cards are treated under the Laws in the same way as spoken calls. ..a call may be changed without penalty.......only if:
(a) The change is solely due to the player having taken out the wrong card in error; and
(b) He changes - or attempts to change - it instantly after he REALISES that he has removed the wrong card by mistake."
PARAGRAPH 7B8 in the HANDBOOK OF EBU DIRECTIVES (the Orange Book)

This means that you can change a bid when you have made a mechanical error in pulling the wrong card out of the bidding box but NOT when you decide a different bid would be preferable.  Taking into account the shape and arrangement of the bidding cards in the box we will willingly accept that a card has been taken out in error if the intended card is adjacent to it.  We are not going to accept that a pass card taken from the front of the box was taken out in error when you meant to bid 3

It is difficult to be precise about all possibilities. Insufficient bids can be especially difficult to judge, wheras if you take out the double card and at the same time proceed to make a jump bid nobody will doubt that you really meant to take out the stop card.

Its interesting to note that the regulations refer to immediately after realising.  The correction itself does not have to be immediately after making the error.  If you take out 1 instead of 1 and don't register what you have put on the table it may be OK if you correct it immediately after you actually register which bidding card you have put on the table.


Except in the most obvious cases (eg the double card instead of the stop card) you should always call the director for advice, otherwise you risk making matters worse.