Spade Heart Blackrock College Bridge Club Diamond Club
Recent Updates
Home Page
20th Dec 2018 15:42 GMT
0 0 0 0 0 0
Pages viewed in 2019
CBAI contact details: 

Contract Bridge Association of Ireland
Templeogue House
Templeogue Road
Dublin 6W
Telephone 01 492 9666 
BCBC Committee 2018/19

President - Janet O’Huiginn, Vice President – Dorothy Collins, Hon. Sec. - Fionnuala Duddy, Hon. Treasurer - Philip O’Dwyer, Hon. Membership Secretary and Hon. Tournament Director - Oliver Rye.

Committee Members: Ciaran O'Huiginn, Joan Valkenburg, Nancy Malone, Ursula O'Connell, Vera McCague, George Kavanagh, Yvonne Sheerin.


"Kay Meade is Player of the Year 2017"

Congratulations from all club members go to Kay, on a great year of Bridge.

Massey League Results
Massey League Results

Congratulations to BCBC A & B teams winning the Massey League in their sections!

Welcome to Blackrock College Bridge Club
Blackrock College Bridge Club

 * O'Kennedy Cup 2019 * O'Kennedy 2019*

20th January 2019, Dun Laoghaire Bridge Club, 2, Clarinda Park, North

Confined Teams Comp. Inter A's and Area Masters

Entries to Michael Rowan, 087 7638948... Prize fund 1000euro+


BCBC Golf Day 5th October ,18
  • Golf day Dominic Entertains
  • Golf winner Clare and Ciaran
  • Golf winner Deirdre
  • Golf winner Marian
  • Golf winner Paula

A wonderful days Golf  and Dinner was held in Foxrock GC on Friday 5/10

Mens 18 hole winner: Ciaran O Huiginn, 2nd Roger Hofler

Ladies 18 hole winner : Clare O'Dwyer, 2nd Deirdre Paffrath

Ladies 9 holes winner: Marian Byrnes 2nd Paula Dineen

Many thanks to Foxrock GC and to our 'Entertainers'

Dunne Trophy 2018
  • Winners Dunne Trophy 2018
  • Dunne Trophy 1st Session Winners
  • Dunne Trophy 2nd place 2018
  • Dunne Trophy 3rd place 2018
  • 4th place Dunne Trophy 2018
  • Dunne Trophy 5th place 2018
  • Dunne Trophy 6th place 2018
  • Dunne Trophy Best Bs

Congratulations to 2018, Dunne Trophy Winners Kay Meade and Nance O Mahony 

2nd W Clingan & F Kelly, 3rd M Dillon & M O'Neill, 4th E and M Hodkinson,  5th M Loughnane & A M-Leahy, 6th P Mcmahon & N Malone, 6th 

1st Session prize K Hurley & K O'Connor, 2nd Session A O'Kane & N Power. Best B's G Kavanagh & P Collery

Memorial Trophy Winners 2018

Congratulations to 2018 Memorial Trophy Winners Cathy Halpin and Kay Curtin! Well played Ladies!

Runners up Carmel Gunning & Peggy Fitzpatrick, 3rd Mary Dillon & M ONeill, 4th Nancy Malone & Phil McMahon, 5th A Doyle & L Ryan, 6th D Harvey & A Carroll. Winners Best A's, A O'Byrne & S Kennedy, Best B's V McCague & P Cooper.

  • Memorial 2018 2nd
  • Memorial 2018 3rd
  • Memorial 2018 5th
  • Memorial 2018 6th
  • Memorial 2018 Best As
  • Memorial 2018 Winners
Massey League Results

Congratulations to BCBC A & B teams winning the Massey League in their sections!


All Competitions require pre-entry and commence at 7.15 pm. Sharp.

Members are responsible for putting their names on the competition list and MUST notify theTournament Director if unable to play in any pre-entry competition.

To be eligible to win a prize in a major Competition members must have played on 4 club nights prior to that event, during the current club year


Interesting facts

The origin of playing cards: 

The origin of playing cards was in China and dates back to around the year 1120.  

Originally, cards were used for fortune telling and gambling. 
Cards were introduced into Italy and Spain around 1370, probably coming from Egypt. 
Tarot cards, used for fortune telling, were introduced in Italy in 1440.

The origin of Bridge: 

The origin of Bridge can be traced back to a card game 1st played in the 16th century, what was the name of that game? 

= "Whist" - The 1st entirely devoted to Whist was written by Edmund Hoyle in 1742

Section A
Director: Philip Johnston
Scorer: Philip Johnston
Section B
Director: Philip Johnston
Scorer: Philip Johnston
Section C
Director: Philip Johnston
Scorer: Philip Johnston