Barbados Bridge League - The Home of Barbados Bridge Clubs
Pages viewed in 2017
Dr. Colin Depradine

The President, Board of Directors and Membership of the Barbados Bridge League, announce with deep sorrow the death of Dr Colin Depradine.

The funeral service is to be on Wednesday, 28 June at St Paul's Anglican Church at 2pm.

Colin was a long-standing member of the Barbados Bridge League and sat for many years on the Board of Directors. At the time of his passing he was Chief Tournament Director for the League and Chairman of Tournament committee, in charge of the scheduling of the annual programmes and conduct of League games. He was also a long standing member of the Morning Bridge Club, Hastings Bridge Club and the Cave Hill Bridge Club.  He sat on the Board of Directors of all of these clubs and in the case of the latter two, he was Vice President for many years. He was Director for the games of the Morning and Hastings Bridge Clubs and from time to time also directed the Cave Hill games.  As Chief Tournament Director, he also directed the Barbados Bridge League Games.

Blessed with an affable disposition, an even temperament, and a great sense of humour, Colin was everyone's idea of what a good Tournament Director should be.  He never raised his voice or appeared to be angry and dealt with all problems presented with an equanimity and fairness which was apparent to all involved.

He was a very popular player among the bridge cognoscenti and had many successful partnerships.  Among the longest lasting and most successful was his partnership with Roglyn Hinds, with whom he represented Barbados on many occasions.  He also had successful partnership with many other bridge players and was a virtual fixture on National Teams through the ages.

The Bridge fraternity in Barbados and the Diaspora will miss him greatly.  

We offer his wife and family our deepest and sincerest condolences.

May he rest in Peace

News from the Bridge League



Mrs. Roglyn Hinds (reelected)


Vice President:

Mrs. Yvonne Seale (reelected)


Miss Sian Lange


Mr. Adrian Lovell (reelected)

Floor Members:

Dr. Colin Depradine (reelected)

Mr. Morris Blenman (reelected)

Dr. Harley Moseley (reelected)

Mr. Douglas Rotchell

Mrs. Patricia Greenidge.

Sporting Barbados - a calendar of events
Cave Hill
Cave Hill Banks Trophy 2017 Results

Master Point Awards

Cave Hill Banks Trophy 2016 Results

Master Point Awards

Cave Hill Banks Trophy 2015

Corrections posted April 11, 2015l

Cave Hill President Team Results/MP awards2013


AGM 2013





            Welcome to the 43rd annual general meeting of the Cave Hill Bridge Club.


            Once again, the year under review was a quiet one. However, it was marked by the passing of a number of our members: our oldest member, George Bailey; Fred Forde; and our long-standing Vice President and assistant director, Brenda Gonsalves. In addition we said a final farewell to Sir Carlisle Burton, Patron of the Barbados Bridge League. We again extend sympathies to the families of the departed.


            The number of financial members has stabilized over the past few years; 40 members paid their subscriptions in 2012, compared to 41 in 2011 and 40 in 2010. The average weekly attendance also remained fairly constant, with an average turnout of 5.5 tables compared to 5.8 in 2011 and 5.35 in 2010. This year there were only 3 occasions when we did not have a game, two of which were the Worldwide Pairs tournament and the Sun, Sea and Slams. (We even accommodated members by holding games on December 22 and 29.) Forty-four games counted toward the Plantation Ltd Trophy; seven pairs qualified for the trophy by playing in a minimum of 20 games.


            Although low membership and low attendance continue to be a cause for concern, some encouragement can be taken from the modest increase in attendance over the last 3 years compared to the preceding ten years or so when average attendance hovered between 4 and 4.5 tables.


            We have continued to place our weekly results on the Bridge League’s web page.


            Winners of the club’s special events in 2013 were:


Banks Pairs:                            Dave Blackman - Tony Watkins

Coca-Cola Pairs:                    Pat Cummins - Brooks Moseley

President’s Teams:                 Cammie Blenman - Terry Meek; Clive and Marcia Hammans

Bannister Memorial Pairs:     Norma Springer - Jackie Thompson

Plantations Ltd Pairs:             D Blackman - T Watkins (59.98 %)


Dave Blackman amassed 20.22 master points at Cave Hill to lead the field in that department.


            Further details of the Plantations Trophy competition and the master points awarded for the year can be found on the club’s notice board.


            I thank all members of the Committee of Management for their invaluable support and assistance during the year, especially Colin Depradine, who was always willing to fill in as director when requested; Secretary-Treasurer Yvonne Seale; Dave Blackman, who kindly consented to fill the Vice-Presidential post after it became vacant; and also Michael Gill, who continued to solve knotty problems imposed by the Bridgemate and Duplimate systems.



Terry Meek

President, CHB

Hastings Annual Inter-Club Tournament Results 2011

After two sessions, the final ranking is


GONSALVES, Meek, Hammar, Watkins


Cave Hill     


CUMMINS, Millar, Gill, Moseley 




HOLLINGSWORTH, Moss, Hinds, Seale


Cave Hill    


HOWE, Harvey, R, Kirton, Purdy


Morning Club


COLLINS, Springer A, Asgill, Springer N




BLENMAN,M, Depradine, Blenman C, Chase




DOTTIN, Morris, Nurse/Baker, Sye/Baker


Morning Club


COLLIE/MARVILLE, Norville, Berger, Smith/Reynoldson


Morning Club


BAILEY, Blanchette, King,Nicholson


Divi Southwinds

CAVE HILL President Teams 2012
Cave Hill BANKS TROPHY 2012: Final Standings


Highlights from Annual General Meeting 2011
Winners of the club's special events in 2010 were:

Banks Pairs: Dave Blackman - Tony Watkins
Coca-Cola Pairs: Brenda Gonsalves - Terry Meek
President's Teams: Roglyn Hinds-Yvonne Seale; Morris Blenman-Colin Depradine
Bannister Memorial Pairs: Pauline Stewart - Robin Stewart
Plantations Ltd Pairs: Dave Blackman - Tony Watkins (61.1 %) - a new record!

Charles Hollingsworth accumulated an impressive total of 
20.53 master points at Cave Hill to lead the field in that 

The Board was re-elected en-bloc.